Tipperary and Cavan's historic...


Tipperary and Cavan's historic years capped by All Star recognition

Share this article

All Ireland champions Dublin head the list of PwC All Star football award nominations. 

The side who won a sixth All Ireland title in a row in December have been recognised with 13 nominees for the team of the year.

Next on the list are All Ireland finalists Mayo with 12.

Both sides dominate the PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year Award shortlist.

Brian Fenton is looking to become the first player to win the award twice. He's shortlisted alongside teammate Ciaran Kilkenny, and Mayo forward Cillian O'Connor.

The PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year shortlist is an all-Mayo affair, with Oisin Mullin, Tommy Conroy and Eoghan McLoughlin all nominated.

There has been recognition too for the remarkable achievements of both Tipperary and Cavan.

After winning their first Munster Football title since 1935, Tipp are rewarded with four nominations. Among them are their on-loan Sydney Swan, Colin O'Riordan.

Cavan have fared even better, as they look to secure a first All Star since Dermot McCabe in 1997, and just their third in all.

The Breffni County have received 7 award nominations.

Rounding out the list, there are three nominations for Ulster finalists Donegal, two for Galway and with Armagh’s Aidan Forker, Cork midfielder Ian Maguire and Kerry attacker David Clifford also included.

It's hoped the All Stars can be handed out in a COVID-19 appropriate TV ceremony in February.

PwC All-Stars Football nominations 2020

David Clarke (Mayo), Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), Raymond Galligan (Cavan)

Davey Byrne, Michael Fitzsimons, Eoin Murchan, John Small, Robbie McDaid (all Dublin)

Oisín Mullin, Eoghan McLaughlin, Lee Keegan, Chris Barrett, Patrick Durcan (all Mayo)

Ciarán Brady, Padraig Faulkner, Gerry Smith (all Cavan),

Kevin Fahy, Bill Maher (Tipperary)

Iain Corbett (Limerick), Aidan Forker (Armagh), Peadar Mogan (Donegal).

James McCarthy (Dublin), Brian Fenton (Dublin), Colin O’Riordan (Tipperary), Gearóid McKiernan (Cavan), Matthew Ruane (Mayo), Ian Maguire (Cork)

Niall Scully, Con O’Callaghan, Ciarán Kilkenny, Dean Rock, Seán Bugler (all Dublin)

Cillian O’Connor, Kevin McLoughlin, Ryan O’Donoghue, Aidan O’Shea, Tommy Conroy (all Mayo)

Martin Reilly, Thomas Galligan (Cavan)

Shane Walsh, Paul Conroy (Galway)

Michael Langan, Ciarán Thompson (Donegal)

Conor Sweeney (Tipperary), David Clifford (Kerry)

PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year nominees
Oisín Mullin, Tommy Conroy, Eoghan McLaughlin (all Mayo)

PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year nominees
Brian Fenton (Dublin), Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin), Cillian O’Connor (Mayo)

Eamonn Ryan passes away, Paddy Andrews retires and Fantasy Football obsessions

Share this article

Read more about

All-Stars All Star Brian Fenton Cavan Ciaran Kilkenny Cillian O'Connor Dublin Mayo Tipperary

You might like