Champions Tyrone dominate All...


Champions Tyrone dominate All Star Football Team of the Year

Share this article

All Ireland champions Tyrone have dominated the 2021 PWC GAA/GPA All Star Football Team of the Year. 

The Red Hand County were rewarded with eight places on the team.

Niall Morgan beat competition from Monaghan's Rory Beggan, and Mayo's Rob Hennelly to be named All Star goalkeeper.

Having been given the honour of lifting the Sam Maguire, Tyrone captain Padraig Hampsey was included in the full-back line.

The All Ireland champions monopolise the half-back line, with Conor Meyler, Peter Harte and Kieran McGeary all named in the team.

Brian Kennedy was named in midfield, with Darren McCurry and Niall Sludden in the half-forward line.

Beaten All Ireland finalists Mayo have three All Stars, in the guise of Lee Keegan, midfielder Matthew Ruane, and Ryan O'Donoghue.

Kerry's Clifford brothers - Paudie and David - are joined in the team by Kingdom teammate, Tom O'Sullivan.

Ciaran Kilkenny is Dublin's only representative on the team.

Tyrone's Kieran McGeary was crowned 2021 PWC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year. And for the second year running, Mayo's Oisin Mullin collected the Young Footballer of the Year gong.

Looking back on their incredible year, Tyrone co-manager Feargal Logan said, "It seemed to bring great joy to Tyrone, and to everyone up in Ulster involved with football.

"Essentially we were under the cosh after [a 6-15 to 1-14 league defeat to Kerry in] Killarney, very much so.

"We came through a public health emergency - we're coming through it still - and I think no-one really expected it, so that made it all the sweeter for people.

"But, I suppose, ultimately it's great that the players have medals in their pockets, and have achieved the ultimate. But it's great that it brought some hope and some joy to people all across wherever."

2021 PWC GAA/GPA All Star Football Team Of The Year

1. Niall Morgan (Tyrone)

2. Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone)
3. Lee Keegan (Mayo)
4. Tom O'Sullivan (Kerry)

5. Conor Meyler (Tyrone)
6. Kieran McGeary (Tyrone)
7. Peter Harte (Tyrone)

8. Brian Kennedy (Tyrone)
9. Matthew Ruane (Mayo)

10. Niall Sludden (Tyrone)
11. Paudie Clifford (Kerry)
12. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)

13. Darren McCurry (Tyrone)
14. David Clifford (Kerry)
15. Ryan O'Donoghue (Mayo)

Canning return to Galway unlikely as he takes up role with minors

Share this article

Read more about

All-Stars All Star Conor Meyler GAA/GPA All Star Kieran McGeary Lee Keegan Matthew Ruane Niall Morgan Padraig Hampsey Peter Harte Tom O'Sullivan Tyrone

You might like