Nine All-Stars for Dublin seni...


Nine All-Stars for Dublin senior footballers, Cavan rewarded

Share this article

Dublin have equalled their tally of 1977 by collecting nine of the PWC All-Stars on offer for the 2020 football season.

Dessie Farrell's men beat Mayo in December to win their sixth All-Ireland title in a row.

Midfielder Brian Fenton, who has never lost a Championship game - wins his fifth All-Star, with James McCarthy collecting his fourth All-Star at right half-back, and Ciaran Kilkenny picks up his fourth gong at centre forward.

Kilkenny is flanked in the half-forward line by Con O'Callaghan and Niall Scully, who receives his first All-Star.

Corner-forward Dean Rock, centre-back John Small, wing-back Eoin Murchan and corner-back Michael Fitzsimons are also honoured for the Boys in Blue.

Small and Murchan are maiden All-Star winners.

Ulster champions Cavan only won two awards in the first 50 years of the scheme - the Breffni men have surpassed that by having three players named in this year's team.

Goalkeeper Raymond Galligan becomes the 800th player to win an All-Star since the awards were introduced back in 1971. His team-mates - full-back Padraig Faulkner and midfielder Thomas Galligan are also named in the 15.

Conor Sweeney captained Tipperary to their first Munster crown since 1935 back in November and he's rewarded with a place at full-forward. He is the third Premier county footballer to win an All-Star in the county's history.

Mayo have two players on the team; young corner-back Oisin Mullin and the Championship's record scorer, Cillian O'Connor, named at right corner-forward.

The Hurling All-Star team, Football and Hurling Players of the Year and Football and Hurling Young Players of the Year will be revealed on Saturday evening.

The 2020 PWC GAA / GPA All-Stars football team is as follows (Previous All-Star awards in brackets):


1. Raymond Galligan (Cavan)


2. Oisín Mullin (Mayo)

3. Padraig Faulkner (Cavan)

4. Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin) (2017, ’19)

5. James McCarthy (Dublin) (2014, ’17, ’18)

6. John Small (Dublin)

7. Eoin Murchan (Dublin)


8. Brian Fenton (Dublin) (2015, ’16, ’18, ’19)

9. Thomas Galligan (Cavan)


10. Niall Scully (Dublin)

11. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin) (2015, ’16, ’18)

12. Con O’Callaghan (Dublin) (2017, ’19)

13. Cillian O’Connor (Mayo) (2014)

14. Conor Sweeney (Tipperary)

15. Dean Rock (Dublin) (2016, ’17)

Share this article

Read more about

All-Stars GAA Dublin

You might like