Three changes for Ireland ahea...


Three changes for Ireland ahead of Scotland clash

Share this article

Iain Henderson has been included in the Ireland team for their Six Nations meeting with Scotland. 

The Ulster lock is drafted into the second row, where James Ryan misses out as he goes through the return to play protocols.

Henderson was introduced as Ryan's replacement at Twickenham, following the Leinster man's head injury in the second minute. 

Elsewhere, Mack Hansen starts on the wing, while Jack Conan will wear the number 8 shirt.

Peter O'Mahony drops to the bench with Andrew Conway missing out with a knee problem.

Kieran Treadwell is included in the matchday squad.

Meanwhile, Gregor Townsend has made two changes to his Scotland side.

One of them comes at out-half, where Blair Kinghorn is listed to start. Finn Russell drops to the bench.

They also make a switch in the second row, with Jonny Gray in in place of Sam Skinner.

A win for Ireland at the Aviva Stadium will see Andy Farrell's side claim the Triple Crown for the first time since 2018.

It will also see Ireland place pressure on tournament leaders France, who play England on Saturday evening.

Fabien Galthie's men are bidding for a Grand Slam, but a slip-up could see Ireland take the championship title.

Ireland team vs Scotland (KO 4.45pm)

15. Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) 19 caps
14. Mack Hansen (Connacht) 3 caps
13. Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD) 41 caps
12. Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians) 36 caps
11. James Lowe (Leinster) 11 caps
10. Johnny Sexton (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 104 caps CAPTAIN
9. Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) 16 caps
1. Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) 115 caps
2. Dan Sheehan (Leinster/Lansdowne) 6 caps
3. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Clontarf) 56 caps
4. Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne) 29 caps
5. Iain Henderson (Ulster/Academy) 67 caps
6. Caelan Doris (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 16 caps
7. Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD) 39 caps
8. Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere) 26 caps

16. Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 25 caps
17. Dave Kilcoyne (Munster/UL Bohemians) 47 caps
18. Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Buccaneers) 22 caps
19. Kieran Treadwell (Ulster/Ballymena) 4 caps
20. Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution) 83 caps
21. Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) 95 caps
22. Joey Carbery (Munster/Clontarf) 31 caps
23. Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers) 56 caps


Share this article

Read more about

Iain Henderson Ireland Rugby Scotland Six Nations

You might like