Seven Championship debutants a...


Seven Championship debutants as Mayo name a XV for Leitrim date

Share this article

Mayo manager James Horan has named a starting XV for Sunday's Connacht football quarter-final with Leitrim. 

Seven players will make their Championship debuts at Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada should the team list prove accurate.

Westport duo Rory Brickenden and Eoghan McLaughlin are joined by corner-back Oisín Mullin (Kilmaine), half-forwards Bryan Walsh (Ballintubber), Ryan O’Donoghue (Belmullet) and Jordan Flynn (Crossmolina Deel Rovers), and corner-forward Tommy Conroy (The Neale).

Six of those seven featured during Mayo's ill-fated League campaign,

As expected, Cillian O'Connor returns at corner-forward having sat out last weekend's Allianz Football League defeat to Tyrone that saw Mayo relegated to Division 2.

Mayo XV v Leitrim: 1. David Clarke; 2. Oisín Mullin, 3. Stephen Coen; 4. Lee Keegan, 5. Patrick Durcan, 6. Rory Brickenden, 7. Eoghan McLaughlin; 8. Matthew Ruane, 9. Conor Loftus; 10. Bryan Walsh, 11. Ryan O’Donoghue, 12. Jordan Flynn, 13. Tommy Conroy, 14. Aidan O’Shea(C), 15. Cillian O’Connor

Leitrim XV v Mayo: 1. Brendan Flynn, 2. Donal Casey, 3. Donal Wrynn, 4. Conor Reynolds, 5. David Bruen, 6. Aidan Flynn, 7. Cillian Mc Gloin; 8. Mark Plunkett, 9. Domnnaill Flynn; 10. Conor Dolan, 11. Paddy Maguire (C), 12. Jack Gilheaney, 13. Shane Quinn, 14. Evan Sweeney, 15. Keith Beirne

Share this article

Read more about

Cillian O'Connor Eoghan McLaughlin James Horan Leitrim Mayo

You might like