Seamus Coleman included in Rep...


Seamus Coleman included in Republic of Ireland squad

Phil Egan
Phil Egan

01:34 5 Nov 2020

Share this article

Republic of Ireland captain Seamus Coleman has been named in Stephen Kenny's 26- man squad for the upcoming matches against England, Wales and Bulgaria.

The Everton defender missed all three international games in October with a hamstring injury and is yet to feature for the Toffees since suffering another hamstring injury in the Merseyside derby against Liverpool on October 17th.

Luton Town striker James Collins has been called into the squad for the first time under Stephen Kenny.

The Ireland boss was forced to bring in a replacement for David McGoldrick, who announced his retirement from international football on Wednesday night.

There's no place in the squad for Southampton striker Shane Long or Preston's Sean Maguire but Portsmouth striker Ronan Curtis and Wycombe Wanderers winger Daryl Horgan retain their places in the squad after being called up as late replacements last month.

Shamrock Rovers midfielder Jack Byrne will link up with the squad ahead of the Nations League match against Wales.

Ireland face England at Wembley Stadium on Thursday, November 12th, Wales on Sunday, November 15th at the Cardiff City Stadium and Bulgaria at the Aviva Stadium on Wednesday, November 18th.

The squad will meet up on Sunday, November 8th in London ahead of the international friendly against England at Wembley on Thursday.

Republic of Ireland Squad 

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Caoimhín Kelleher (Liverpool), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth).

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Kevin Long (Burnley), Shane Duffy (Celtic, on loan from Brighton and Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United), Dara O'Shea (West Bromwich Albion).

Midfielders: Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), James McCarthy (Crystal Palace), Harry Arter (Nottingham Forest), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Jayson Molumby (Brighton and Hove Albion), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Jack Byrne (Shamrock Rovers).

Forwards: Callum Robinson (West Bromwich Albion), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City), Aaron Connolly (Brighton and Hove Albion), Adam Idah (Norwich City), James Collins (Luton Town), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth), Daryl Horgan (Wycombe Wanderers).

Share this article

Read more about

Bulgaria England Jack Byrne James Collins Republic Of Ireland Seamus Coleman Stephen Kenny Wales

You might like