Limerick manager John Kiely na...


Limerick manager John Kiely names his side for All Ireland semi with Kilkenny

Share this article

Limerick manager John Kiely's revealed his hand for Saturday's All Ireland Hurling semi-final with Kilkenny at Croke Park. 

He's decided against tinkering with a winning formula by sticking with the same fifteen that beat Tipperary 2-26 to 2-14 to claim the Munster Hurling title a month ago at the Gaelic Grounds.

In fact, such is Kiely's faith with that side he's also named the same substitutes meaning Limerick's entire matchday 26 is unchanged.

That impressive win over Tipp means that Limerick now have the distinction of being reigning Munster, League and All Ireland hurling champions.

But as Tom Morrissey told Off The Ball's Valerie Wheeler this week, their hunger for success remains as strong as ever, "The way that we've handled it so far this year; coming in winning the league and the Munster on the back of our All-Ireland success last year shows that this group is able for any hype that might surround us, we're well able to stay focused on the job we have to do.

"It's a bit different from this time last year - we were coming in under the radar, not much was being expected of us, completely different this year but we're not going to get into any of that talk, we know the challenge Kilkenny will bring to us and that will be a huge test and we're looking forward to it but hoping obviously to get over it."

Limerick team to play Kilkenny:
1. Nickie Quaid (Effin)

2. Sean Finn (Bruff)
3. Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
4. Richie English (Doon)

5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
6. Declan Hannon (c) (Adare)
7. Dan Morrissey (Ahane)

8. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)
9. William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh)

10. Gearóid Hegarty (St Patrick’s)
11. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)
12. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)

13. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)
14. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)
15. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)

16. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock)
17. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)
18. Aaron Costello (Kilmallock)
19. Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh)
20. Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon)
21. Barry Nash (South Liberties)
22. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon)
23. Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock)
24. David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca)
25. Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen)
26. Pat Ryan (Doon)

Share this article

Read more about

Aaron Gillane Cian Lynch Croke Park Declan Hannon Gea Graeme Mulcahy John Kiely Kilkenny Kyle Hayes Limerick Nickie Quaid Peter Casey Tipperary

You might like