Limerick name their side for p...


Limerick name their side for potentially history-making All Ireland final

Share this article

Limerick manager John Kiely has refrained from tinkering with a winning formula for Sunday's All Ireland hurling final with Cork. 

He's named the same XV that accounted for Waterford in the semi-finals a fortnight ago.

Indeed, there's only one change to the side that started December's All Ireland final win over the Deise at Croke Park, with Peter Casey starting ahead of Graeme Mulcahy this time around.

Diarmaid Byrnes has seemingly shaken off the ankle injury that rendered him a doubt to take his place at wing-back. Barry Nash also starts, despite being taken off with a knock in the win over Waterford.

Limerick are hoping to win back-to-back Liam McCarthy trophies for the first time in the county's history. They've twice fallen at the final hurdle in that regard - first in 1935, and then again in 1974.

Captain Declan Hannon says expectation of winning back-to-back titles is not weighing heavily on the panel.

"It is more difficult but it’s something you have to embrace," he said, "We’ve been long enough trying to get to this position so why not embrace it.

"Whoever performs on the day will come out the best but you have to enjoy the occasions as well.

“We’re just really focused on getting the best out of ourselves at training and in matches. We don’t even talk about things that could happen or what outside people are talking about.”


1. Nickie Quaid (Effin)

2. Sean Finn (Bruff)
3. Dan Morrissey (Ahane)
4. Barry Nash (South Liberties)

5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
6. Declan Hannon (Adare) (c)
7. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)

8. William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsiagh)
9. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon)

10. Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks)
11. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)
12. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)

13. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)
14. Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon)
15. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)


16. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), 17. Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), 18. Aaron Costello (Kilmallock), 19. Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown), 20. Richie English (Doon), 21. Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock), 22. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock), 23. Barry Murphy (Doon), 24. Cathal O’Neill (Crecora-Manister), 25. David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca), 26. Pat Ryan (Doon)

Croke Park to host both All Ireland Camogie semi-finals for first time

Share this article

Read more about

Aaron Gillane Barry Nash Cian Lynch Cork Dan Morrissey Declan Hannon Diarmaid Byrnes Gearoid Hegarty John Kiely Kyle Hayes Limerick Nickie Quaid William O'Donoghue

You might like