Gillane gets starting berth as...


Gillane gets starting berth as Limerick show their hand for semi-final

Share this article

Limerick hurling manager John Kiely has made a pair of alterations to his starting XV for Saturday's All Ireland semi-final with Waterford.

Aaron Gillane is handed a start at corner-forward following his game-changing substitute appearance in the Munster final win over Tipperary.

A 30th minute substitute for Graeme Mulcahy, the Patrickswell man's four frees helped the reigning All Ireland champions wrestle control of the game.

Mulcahy is named among a stacked substitutes bench.

Kiely sticks by another of his first-half changes last month at Páirc Uí Chaoimh. Richie English was forced off injured in the Tipp game, replaced by Dan Morrissey. Morrissey has been entrusted with the full-back slot against the Deise.

English is fit enough for a place on the bench.

Limerick team v Waterford:

1. Nicky Quaid (Effin)

2. Sean Finn (Bruff)
3. Dan Morrissey (Ahane)
4. Barry Nash (South Liberties)

5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
6. Declan Hannon (Adare) Captain
7. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)

8. William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsiagh)
9. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon)

10. Gearoid Hegarty (St. Patrick’s)
11. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)
12. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)

13. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)
14. Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon)
15. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)

16. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock)
17. Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh)
18. Aaron Costello (Kilmallock)
19. Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown)
20. Richie English (Doon)
21. Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock)
22. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)
23. Barry Murphy (Doon)
24. Cathal O’Neill (Crecora-Manister)
25. David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca)
26. Pat Ryan (Doon)

BREAKING Lionel Messi set to leave Barcelona | The Newsround

Share this article

Read more about

Aaron Gillane All Ireland Hurling Championship Cian Lynch Dan Morrissey Graeme Mulcahy John Kiely Limerick Waterford

You might like