Leinster football championship...


Leinster football championship 2020 draw pits Dubs against Westmeath

Share this article

All-Ireland champions Dublin will begin the defence of their Leinster football championship in summer 2020 against Jack Cooney's Westmeath.

The draw for the provincial campaign in Leinster was made this morning, with that tie the only known pairing in the first round.

Westmeath beat the Dubs in the final of the O'Byrne Cup early last year - winning against a weakened capital outfit 1-12 to 0-10.

Former Kerry manager Jack O'Connor will take charge of Kildare for the first time next year.

The Lilywhites will meet the winner of Carlow and Offaly in their last-eight provincial fixture. The new Lilywhites manager and his backroom team succeed Cian O'Neill, who had been in charge since 2015.

Paul Galvin's Wexford kick off their championship against Wicklow.

The four-time All-Ireland winner with Kerry was handed a two-year term in charge of the county at the beginning of August.

Wicklow themselves have a new man in charge, after Davy Burke replaced John Evans at the helm of the Garden County.

Another Kerryman taking the reigns of a Leinster outfit for the first time next year is Mike Quirke - he will open his managerial inter-county bow with Laois against the victors of the Louth versus Longford first-round tie.

Meath reached the provincial decider last summer, where they were eventually beaten by Dublin in Croke Park. Jim Gavin's side eased to a 16-point win to secure their ninth Delaney Cup in a row on a 1-17 to 0-4 scoreline.

The semi-final draw for next year’s Leinster championship will be confirmed after the quarter-final ties take place.

First Round
Carlow v Offaly
Wexford v Wicklow
Louth v Longford

Kildare v Carlow/Offaly
Meath v Wexford/Wicklow
Laois v Louth/Longford
Westmeath v Dublin

The draws for the Munster and Connacht championships are set to take place tomorrow morning, while the Ulster football championship draw will be made on Thursday.

Share this article

Read more about

Dublin Jack Cooney Jack O'Connor Jim Gavin Kildare Leinster Leinster GAA Meath Mike Quirke Offaly Paul Galvin Westmeath

You might like