Mullin and Ruane return for Ma...


Mullin and Ruane return for Mayo's league showdown with Dublin

Share this article

Oisin Mullin and Matthew Ruane have both been restored to the Mayo side that plays Dublin at Croke Park on Saturday night. 

Their returns are among seven changes made by manager James Horan from the side that edged out Monaghan in Clones a fortnight ago.

Young Footballer of the Year Mullin will be making his first appearance for Mayo since rejecting a move to the AFL with Geelong.

Meanwhile, Ruane is named alongside Jordan Flynn in midfield having served a two-match ban for the red card he was shown in last year's All Ireland final defeat to Tyrone.

Mullin's on the right of an all-new half-back line with captain Stephen Coen, and Castlebar Mitchels' Donnacha McHugh.

Jack Carney's named at wing-forward in place of Sigerson Cup-winner Fionn McDonagh. While Paul Towey has a chance to shake off that UL defeat to NUI Galway as he replaces Jason Doherty.

Aiden O'Shea and Kevin McLoughlin are both among Horan's subs.

In all, only seven of the team that started August's famous All Ireland semi-final win over the Dubs have been named in the starting XV for Saturday night under the lights of Croke Park.

Mayo team: 

1. Rob Hennelly (Breaffy)

2. Lee Keegan (Westport)
3. Rory Brickenden (Westport)
4. Michael Plunkett (Ballintubber)

5. Oisin Mullin (Kilmaine)
6. Stephen Coen (Hollymount / Carramore) (captain)
7. Donnacha McHugh (Castlebar Mitchels)

8. Matthew Ruane (Breaffy)
9. Jordan Flynn (Crossmolina Deel Rovers)

10. Bryan Walsh (Ballintubber)
11. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)
12. Jack Carney (Kilmeena)

13. Paul Towey (Charlestown)
14. Ryan O’Donoghue (Beal a Mhuirthead)
15. Aiden Orme (Knockmore)

16. Rory Byrne (Castlebar Mitchels)
17. Sam Callinan (Ballina Stephenites)
18. Padraig O’Hora (Ballina Stephenites)
19. Eoghan McLaughlin (Westport)
20. Enda Hession (Garrymore)
21. Aidan O’ Shea (Breaffy)
22. Conor O’ Shea (Breaffy)
23. Fergal Boland (Aghamore)
24. Conor Loftus (Crossmolina Deel Rovers)
25. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
26. Fionn McDonagh (Westport)

THE OTB LUNCHTIME WRAP | Ireland to face the Dutch at Hockey World Cup, Kilcoyne to make 200th Munster appearance

Share this article

Read more about

Aiden O'Shea Allianz Football League Dublin James Horan Kevin McLaughlin Lee Keegan Matthew Ruane Mayo Oisin Mullin Stephen Coen

You might like