Share this article

The Irish under 20 side will take to the field for the penultimate time of an attritional season this evening, when they face England in the 5th place semi final at the World Championships in Argentina.

Noel McNamara has made eight changes to his side from the final pool stage win against Italy, where Ireland fell just short of a semi final place.

Leinster's Aaron O'Sullivan makes his debut on the wing, while there is a first Irish under 20 start for David Ryan in the centre. David is the brother of current Leinster and Ireland second row James.

The physicality of the tournament has taken its toll, with the currentlt injury list up to six after Ciaran Booth and David McCann joined Iwan Hughes, Sean French, Stewart Moore and John Hodnett on the sidelines.

The front-row consists of Michael Milne, Dylan Tierney-Martin and Charlie Ward, who makes his first start for the U20s. The back row sees Azur Allison at Number 8, with Ryan Baird and Ronan Watters on the flanks.

Crag Casey starts at scrum-half and partners Ben Healy, while David Ryan is joined in the centre by Liam Turner. Turner, along with Jake Flannery make their ninth consecutive starts for the U20 side.

Aaron O’Sullivan will win his first U20 cap tomorrow and he starts on one wing, with Jonathan Wren on the opposite side.

Clontarf’s Brian Deeny is the most recent injury enforced call-up to the side and he takes his place amongst the replacements.

Ireland came out on top when the sides met in the Six Nations in February, while Noel McNamara's side were also 42-26 winners against England in the opening game of this tournament.

A win for Ireland would see them advance to the 5th place final, where they would take on either New Zealand or Wales.

15. Jake Flannery (Shannon/Munster)
14. Aaron O’Sullivan (UCD/Leinster) *
13. Liam Turner (Dublin University/Leinster)
12. David Ryan (UCD/Leinster)
11. Jonathan Wren (Cork Constitution/Munster)
10. Ben Healy (Garryowen/Munster)
9. Craig Casey (Shannon/Munster)
1. Michael Milne (UCD/Leinster)
2. Dylan Tierney-Martin (Corinthians/Connacht)
3. Charlie Ward (Clontarf/Leinster)
4. Charlie Ryan (UCD/Leinster) Captain
5. Thomas Ahern (Shannon/Munster)
6. Ryan Baird (Dublin University/Leinster)
7. Ronan Watters (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
8. Azur Allison (Ballymena/Ulster)

16. Declan Adamson (Clontarf/Leinster)
17. Josh Wycherley (Young Munster/Munster)
18. Tom Clarkson (Dublin University/Leinster)
19. John McKee (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
20. Brian Deeny (Clontarf/Leinster)
21. Niall Murray (Buccaneers/Connacht)
22. Luke Clohessy (Shannon/Munster)
24. Rob Russell (Dublin University/Leinster)
25. Colm Reilly (Buccaneers/Connacht)
26. Cormac Foley (St.Mary’s College/Leinster)
27. Angus Kernohan (Queen’s University/Ulster)
28. Max O’Reilly (Dublin University/Leinster)

Everyone’s in the Team Of Us.

Vodafone. The Official Sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team.

Subscribe to Off The Ball's YouTube channel for more videos, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for the latest sporting news and content.

Share this article

Read more about

Irish Rugby Rugby Vodafone

You might like