Brian Cody names his Kilkenny...


Brian Cody names his Kilkenny side for All Ireland semi-final with Limerick

Share this article

Kilkenny senior hurling manager Brian Cody has made one personnel change to his starting XV for Saturday's All Ireland semi-final with Limerick. 

Walter Walsh comes into the half-forward line, while Cillian Buckley drops to the bench for the game at Croke Park.

Cody's largely kept faith with the side that beat Cork 2-27 to 3-18 in their quarter-final a fortnight ago.

However, he has rejigged things around the middle third, at least in how he's laid the team out numerically.

Buckley's dropping to the bench sees Paddy Deegan swap from right to left wing-back, while Conor Fogarty swaps the number-8 jersey for the number-5.

The gap in midfield is filled by Richie Leahy, who leaves that places open in the half-forwards for Walsh, who scored 0-3 off the bench when introduced for Buckley at half-time against Cork.

Limerick manager John Kiely not only named an unchanged XV on Thursday night, but he's left the entire matchday 26 untouched from their Munster final win over Tipperary last month.

Kilkenny lost to Limerick in last year's All Ireland quarter-finals, while Cody's charges were humbled 2-18 to 0-15 in Division 1A of the Allianz Hurling League in February.

Speaking with KCLR before the game at Croke Park, Cody was in typically stoic form, "Obviously, everybody would want to impose their own game on the opposition, that’s not going to happen all the time, you have got to be able to deal with what they are throwing at you and at the same time try and play your own game".

Kilkenny team to play Limerick: 
1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)
3. Huw Lawlor (O'Loughlin Gaels)
4. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

5. Conor Fogarty (Erin's Own)
6. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
7. Paddy Deegan (O'Loughlin Gaels)

8. Conor Browne (James Stephens)
9. Richie Leahy (Rower Inistioge)

10. John Donnelly (Thomastown)
11. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
12. Walter Walsh (Tullogher-Rosbercon)

13. Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
14. Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
15. Richie Hogan (Danesfort)

16. Darren Brennan (St. Lachtain's)
17. Enda Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)
18. Jason Cleere (Bennetsbridge)
19. Conor Delaney (Erin's Own)
20. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)
21. James Maher (St. Lachtain's)
22. Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan)
23. Bill Sheehan (Dicksboro)
24. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)
25. Ger Aylward (Glenmore)
26. Alan Murphy (Glenmore)

Share this article

Read more about

All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Championship Croke Park GAA Hurling Kilkenny Limerick Tj Reid

You might like