Kilmacud Crokes Win All-Irelan...


Kilmacud Crokes Win All-Ireland Football Title Under Lights At GAA HQ

Sean O'Regan
Sean O'Regan

05:37 22 Jan 2023

Share this article

Kilmacud Crokes are All-Ireland champions for a third time after a two point win over Glen from Derry.

It finished 1-11 to 1-09 under the lights at Croke Park this afternoon, with the Southsiders adding national silverware to their trophy cabinet following their wins back in 1995 and in 2009.

The Ulster champions couldn't have asked for a better start, with Danny Tallon scoring a brilliant goal with no more than a minute on the clock.

Shane Walsh, who joined Crokes after a transfer from Galway's Kilkerrin-Clonberne, scored 1-3, with his goal coming from the spot as he calmly found the net with a first half penalty.


Glen stayed in touch with the Dublin champions, and almost stole it at the death, but a remarkable Conor Ferris save in front of Hill 16 ensured it was Crokes who walked up the steps of the Hogan Stand a few minutes later.

It was a case of redemption for Ferris, as it was his mistake which helped Kilcoo snatch a late goal a year ago, when Crokes were on the wrong end of a one point defeat.

22,890 fans were at Croke Park today, where before the football final, Ballyhale Shamrocks of Kilkenny defeated Dunloy of Antrim on a final score of 1-22 to 1-15.

The win is Ballyhale's ninth All-Ireland title, and it copper fastens their title as the most successful hurling club in history, five ahead of Birr from Offaly and Portumna of Galway.

Share this article

You might like