Callanan and Cluxton win Hurle...


Callanan and Cluxton win Hurler and Footballer of the Year awards

Ann-Marie Donelan
Ann-Marie Donelan

08:20 1 Nov 2019

Share this article

It was all about the captains on Friday night as Tipperary's Séamus Callanan and Dublin's Stephen Cluxton were crowned the GAA GPA Hurler and Footballer of the year respectively.

Despite having won five All Stars prior to this year's ceremony, Cluxton had never before been named Footballer of the Year.

Cluxton was awarded his sixth All Star at Dublin's Convention Centre along with his Footballer of the Year gong.

Callanan, who picked up his fourth PwC All-Star at the Convention Centre, was an integral part of Tipp's season that saw them lift the Liam McCarthy Cup for the 28th time in August.

Many felt Callanan was unlucky to miss out on the award to Waterford's Austin Gleeson when the Premier last won the All-Ireland back in 2016.

His seven goals in as many games this year though have seen the 31-year-old clinch it as the Drom-Inch clubman was selected as player of the year by his peers.

A historic year saw Cluxton climb the steps of the Hogan Stand for the sixth time and complete the five-in-a-row after beating Kerry in a replay.

The Parnells man becomes the first goalkeeper to claim the accolade since the awards became official in 1995.

In a game that many argue Cluxton has single handily revolutionised, he has six All-Stars, seven All-Irelands, 15 Leinster titles and now the highest individual honour.

Cluxton was joined in the All Star Football Team of the Year by six Dublin team-mates in Michael Fitzsimons, Brian Howard, Jack McCaffrey, Brian Fenton, Paul Mannion and Con O'Callaghan.

Kerry received four nods, with Tom O'Sullivan, David Moran, Sean O'Shea and David Clifford making the team.

O'Shea's night was made still better by winning Young Footballer of the Year.

Tyrone pair Ronan McNamee and Cathal McShane were joined by Donegal forward Michael Murphy and Mayo defender Paddy Durcan.

Young Hurler of the Year went to Kilkenny's Adrian Mullen.

The 2019 PwC Football All-Stars team

1 Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

2 Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin)
3 Ronan McNamee (Tyrone)
4 Tom O'Sullivan (Kerry)

5 Paddy Durcan (Mayo)
6 Brian Howard (Dublin)
7 Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

8 Brian Fenton (Dublin)
9 David Moran (Kerry)

10 Paul Mannion (Dublin)
11 Seán O'Shea (Kerry)
12 Michael Murphy (Donegal)

13 David Clifford (Kerry)
14 Cathal McShane (Tyrone)
15 Con O'Callaghan (Dublin)

The 2019 PwC Hurling All-Star team was revealed on Thursday, with All Ireland champions Tipperary dominating as expected.

1 Brian Hogan (Tipperary)

2 Seán Finn (Limerick)
3 Ronan Maher (Tipperary)
4 Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)

5 Brendan Maher (Tipperary)
6 Pádraig Walsh (Kilkenny)
7 Pádraic Maher (Tipperary)

8 Noel McGrath (Tipperary)
9 Diarmuid O’Keeffe (Wexford)

10 Lee Chin (Wexford)
11 TJ Reid (Kilkenny)
12 Colin Fennelly (Kilkenny)

13 Aaron Gillane (Limerick)
14 Séamus Callanan (Tipperary)
15 Patrick Horgan (Cork).

Share this article

Read more about

Adrian Mullen All-Stars Brian Fenton Brian Howard Con O'callaghan David Clifford David Moran Dublin Footballer Of The Year GAA GPA Hurler Of The Year Jack Mccaffrey Jim Gavin Kilkenny Michael Murphy Paul Mannion Ronan Mcnamee Stephen Cluxton Tom O'Sullivan

You might like

Live: Title


Added to queue
Removed from queue

On Air



Next up on queue


There are currently no podcasts in the queue

Go to podcasts

On Air

The Big Ride Home With Brian M...

The Big Ride Home With Brian Maher



Up next

The Fix with Ciaran O'Connor

The Fix with Ciaran O'Connor



The Sound of the City at Night...

The Sound of the City at Night with Karl Dawson



The Sound of the City at Night

The Sound of the City at Night



The Sound of the City with Bre...

The Sound of the City with Brendan Roache



Saturday Social

Saturday Social



The Sound of the City with And...

The Sound of the City with Andy Clarke



The Sound of the City with Kar...

The Sound of the City with Karl Dawson



00:00:00 / 00:00:00

Share on