Three outsiders remain as nine...


Three outsiders remain as nine rebel clubs sign UEFA agreement

Share this article

Nine clubs once aligned with the Super League project have signed a 'Club Commitment Declaration' with UEFA. 

In doing so, they have effectively prevented themselves from severe sanctions from European football's governing body.

However, three holdout clubs remain in Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus.

The presidents of all three clubs have spoken in favour of some kind of breakaway European league, even as the others got cold feet.

Arsenal, AC Milan, Chelsea, Atletico Madrid, Inter, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham Hotspur have all signed the 'Club Commitment Declaration'.

Among its details, those clubs will see 5 per cent of their UEFA club competition revenues withheld for one season. That money will be redistributed.

They'll make a combined donation of €15million "for the benefit of children, youth and grassroots football in local communities across Europe".

All nine will rejoin the European Club Association (ECA), and unreservedly acknowledge and accept the binding nature of the UEFA Statutes.

Real, Barca and Juventus will all be dealt with subsequently, according to a statement.

UEFA president Aleksandr Ceferin said, "I said at the UEFA Congress two weeks ago that it takes a strong organisation to admit making a mistake especially in these days of trial by social media. These clubs have done just that. 

"In accepting their commitments and willingness to repair the disruption they caused, UEFA wants to put this chapter behind it and move forward in a positive spirit.

"The measures announced are significant, but none of the financial penalties will be retained by UEFA. They will all be reinvested into youth and grassroots football in local communities across Europe, including the UK. 

"These clubs recognised their mistakes quickly and have taken action to demonstrate their contrition and future commitment to European football.

"The same cannot be said for the clubs that remain involved in the so-called ‘Super League’ and UEFA will deal with those clubs subsequently.”

In effect, the nine returning with their tails between their legs must:

  • unreservedly acknowledges and accepts the binding nature of the UEFA Statutes
  • remains committed to and will participate in any UEFA Club Competitions each season for which that club qualifies on sporting merit
  • will rejoin the European Club Association, which is the only representative body for clubs that UEFA recognises
  • will take all steps within their power with a view to terminate their involvement in the company established to form and operate the Super League and cease any existing related legal actions
  • as a gesture of goodwill, and together with the other clubs, will make a donation totalling an aggregate of €15 million, to be used for the benefit of children, youth and grassroots football in local communities across Europe, including the UK
  • will be subject to the withholding of 5% of the revenues they would have received from UEFA club competitions for one season, which will be redistributed
  • agree to have substantial fines imposed if they seek to play in such an unauthorised competition (€100 million) or if they breach any other commitment they have entered into in the Club Commitment Declaration (€50 million)
  • will provide individual commitments to UEFA in which all the principles and values set out in the 2019 Memorandum of Understanding between UEFA and the European Club Association are accepted. 

British Govt. red-list Turkey as Istanbul loosens grip on CL final

Share this article

Read more about

AC Milan Arsenal Atletico Madrid Barcelona Chelsea European Super League Inter Juventus Liverpool Manchester City Manchester United Real Madrid Spurs Super League The Super League Tottenham Tottenham Hotspur

You might like