Sunday's GAA club wrap - Borri...


Sunday's GAA club wrap - Borris-Ileigh make history in Munster

Share this article

There was GAA club action across the country this afternoon, with a history-making performance in the Munster senior hurling championship final the highlight.

A Brendan Maher-inspired Tipperary's Borris-Ileigh became Munster club champions for the first time since 1986 - they beat Ballygunner of Waterford 1-12 to 1-11 at Páirc Uí Rinn.

Dublin county champions Ballyboden St Enda's will play Carlow's Éire Og in the Leinster SFC final on Sunday, December 8th.

The South Dublin-based 2015 All-Ireland winners beat Westmeath outfit Garrycastle 3-14 to 0-12 at TEG Cusack Park in Mullingar.

Boden led 1-10 to 0-5 at the break with their goal coming from Robbie McDaid in the fifth minute. They scored further goals inside the last ten minutes through Colm Basquel and James Holland. It was the last game of club football ever for Lake County legend Dessie Dolan.

Meanwhile, Corofin are the Connacht club senior football champions for the fourth year in a row.

The Galway kingpins saw off Padraig Pearses from Roscommon on a 1-10 to 0-7 scoreline. Liam Silke scored the only goal of the game midway through the second-half at Tuam Stadium.

Fraher Field in Dungarvan was the venue for the Munster IHC club final - Father O'Neills from Cork saw off Waterford side Ballysaggart on a 2-15 to 0-17 scoreline.

Billy Dunne and Cork forward Declan Dalton raised the green flags for the Rebel side in each half.

In the All-Ireland JHC club quarter-final today, Derry club Eoghan Rua comfortably progressed to the semi-finals at Celtic Park.

They beat Liverpool-based side John Mitchels by 3-19 to 0-7 in a one-sided affair.

And it was Mayo versus Cork opposition in the All-Ireland ladies junior club football final at Duggan Park in Ballinasloe.

Rena Buckley's Donoughmore were taken to extra-time against CL MacHale Rovers, having finished 1-9 apiece after normal time.

The Cork outfit ultimately emerged on top with a 1-12 to 1-11 win after the extra period.

Share this article

Read more about

Ballyboden St Enda's Borris-Ileigh Brendan Maher Corofin Donoughmore GAA GAA Club

You might like