Share this article

Ireland Sevens captain Lucy Mulhall has been named in the squad for the Rugby World Cup 2021 Europe qualifier in Italy. 

The Leinster player is one of three uncapped players included by head coach Adam Griggs.

Ireland play tournament hosts Italy, Spain and Scotland for a place in this year's Rugby World Cup finals.

Joining Mulhall are Sam Monaghan - who has come through the IRFU’s IQ Rugby programme - and Leinster's Mary Healy.

"This was a difficult selection process with the quality we have in the squad," Griggs said, "However we have selected players who have performed consistently well throughout our training camps in the HPC [High Performance Centre] and earned this opportunity.

"It's an exciting group including a good mix of experienced players who have been involved in big Test matches and understand the detail, preparation and intensity required to win at this level.

"We are looking forward to heading to Parma and fine-tuning our game for Spain first and foremost.

"While we can only focus on one game at a time, we won't shy away from the end goal of this being a winner-takes-all tournament for participation at Rugby World Cup 2021.

"The players and staff are all highly motivated and focused on making sure we are successful as a group."

Ireland's campaign begins against Spain next Monday [September 13] before games against Italy [Sunday, September 19] and Scotland [Saturday, September 25].

Ireland squad: 

Backs (12):
Enya Breen (UL Bohemian/Munster)(6 caps)
Eimear Considine (UL Bohemian/Munster)(18)
Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/Ulster)(13)
Lauren Delany (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby)(14)
Stacey Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)(3)
Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster)(3)
Emily Lane (Blackrock College/Munster)(3)
Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/Leinster)(12)
Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum/Leinster)*
Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (Railway Union/Munster)(2)
Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/Leinster)(41)
Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe/Blackrock College/Connacht)(11)

Forwards (16):
Mary Healy (Naas RFC/Leinster)*
Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/Leinster)(12)
Laura Feely (Blackrock College/Connacht)(19)
Nichola Fryday (Blackrock College/Connacht)(18)
Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian/Munster)(Captain)(36)
Brittany Hogan (DCU/Old Belvedere/Ulster)(4)
Neve Jones (Malone/Ulster)(3)
Leah Lyons (Harlequins/IQ Rugby)(26)
Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/ Leinster)(16)
Edel McMahon (Wasps/IQ Rugby)(9)
Claire Molloy (Wasps/IQ Rugby)(71)
Cliodhna Moloney (Wasps/IQ Rugby)(26)
Sam Monaghan (Wasps/IQ Rugby)*
Katie O’Dwyer (Railway Union/Leinster)(3)
Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)(34)
Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College/Munster)(7)

*Denotes uncapped at this level

Aaron Connolly to miss Serbia game through injury

Share this article

Read more about

Adam Griggs Ireland Rugby World Cup 2021

You might like