Ireland team named for Japan c...


Ireland team named for Japan clash

Share this article

Ciara Griffin will start for Ireland on the occasion of her last appearance in a green jersey this Saturday.

The captain has been named in the back row for the visit of Japan to the RDS having announced her intention to retire. 

Ireland are looking to build on their encouraging win over the USA at the same venue last week.

Adam Griggs - who will take charge for the final time - has added fresh impetus with a number of changes, most notably with an entirely new half-back pairing.

Kathryn Dane starts at scrum-half, with Enya Breen wearing the number 10 jersey. It's her first start at out-half.

Elsewhere, three players could win a first cap from the bench.

Leinster duo Mary Healy and Ella Roberts are both among the replacements as is Connacht's Shannon Tuohey.

“Following on from last week’s win over USA, this is a really exciting opportunity for the group as we head into our second Autumn Test," head coach Griggs said.

"A number of players have earned their opportunity and it’s important to explore the depth within the group and build layers of experience as the group build towards the 2022 Women’s Six Nations.

“It is particularly exciting to see a number of young players coming through the Inter-Pros and All-Ireland League, and for them to get their chance at Test level this weekend is paramount as the team enters a new cycle.”

Ireland team vs Japan (3pm kick-off)

Player/Club/Province/Caps –

15. Lauren Delany (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby)(17)
14. Aoife Doyle (Railway Union/Munster)(6)
13. Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians/Munster)(22)
12. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/Leinster)(45)
11. Laura Sheehan (Exeter Chiefs/IQ Rugby)(5)
10. Enya Breen (UL Bohemians/Munster)(8)
9. Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/Ulster)(17)

1. Laura Feely (Blackrock College/Connacht)(22)
2. Neve Jones (Malone/Ulster)(5)
3. Linda Djougang (ASM Romagnat Rugby/Leinster)(16)
4. Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster)(17)
5. Sam Monaghan (Wasps/IQ Rugby)(4)
6. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster)(Captain)(40)
7. Edel McMahon (Wasps/IQ Rugby)(13)
8. Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock College/Leinster)(6).


16. Cliodhna Moloney (Wasps/IQ Rugby)(30)
17. Katie O’Dwyer (Railway Union/Leinster)(4)
18. Mary Healy (Naas/Suttonians/Leinster)*
19. Anna Caplice (Gloucester-Hartpury/IQ Rugby)(15)
20. Maeve Og O’Leary (Blackrock College/Munster)(1)
21. Alisa Hughes (Railway Union/Leinster)(13)
22. Shannon Touhey (Tullamore/Connacht)*
23. Ella Roberts (Wicklow/Leinster)*

* Denotes uncapped player

Share this article

Read more about

Adam Griggs Ciara Griffin Ireland Irish Rugby Japan Team Of Us

You might like