Premier League players lead th...


Premier League players lead the way in Fifa's World XI nominations

Share this article

Premier League players have received the most amount of nominations for the Fifa Fifpro Men's World 11 - for the first time in 10 years.

The list contains five goalkeepers, 20 defenders, 15 midfielders and 15 forwards - with players based in England garnering 21 nominations out of 55. Premier League champions Manchester City have seven players in the list, including Belgian international Kevin de Bruyne and current league top-scorer Sergio Aguero. European champions Liverpool join the Citizen's with having seven of their players honoured - with their entire front three of Roberto Firmino, Sadio Mane and Mo Salah all competing against each other.

Elsewhere, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer's Manchester United has two players in contention, and Chelsea have one representative in World Cup winner N'Golo Kante. Champions League runners-up Tottenham Hotspur have three nominations, with Christian Eriksen, Harry Kane and South Korean Son Heung-min all included in the list.

Fifpro Men's World11 nominations

Goalkeepers: Alisson Becker (Liverpool), David De Gea (Manchester United), Ederson Moraes (Manchester City), Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona)

Defenders: Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Daniel Alves (Sao Paulo), Joao Cancelo (Manchester City), Daniel Carvajal (Real Madrid), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Diego Godin (Inter Milan), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli), Aymeric Laporte (Manchester City), Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Andrew Robertson (Liverpool), Alex Sandro (Juventus), Thiago Silva (Paris St-Germain), Raphael Varane (Real Madrid), Marcelo (Real Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Casemiro (Real Madrid), Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City), Christian Eriksen (Tottenham Hotspur), Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona), Eden Hazard (Real Madrid), N'Golo Kante (Chelsea), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Arthur Melo (Barcelona), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Paul Pogba (Manchester United), Ivan Rakitic (Barcelona), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City), Dusan Tadic (Ajax), Arturo Vidal (Barcelona)

Forwards: Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool), Antoine Griezmann (Barcelona), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Kylian Mbappe (Paris St-Germain), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Neymar (Paris St-Germain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus), Mohammed Salah (Liverpool), Son Heung-min (Tottenham Hotspur), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Luis Suarez (Barcelona)

Share this article

Read more about

Alisson Chelsea De Gea Ederson Kevin De Bruyne Liverpool Manchester City Manchester United Paul Pogba Premier League Tottenham Hotspur

You might like