'The Faithful will never die'...


'The Faithful will never die' | Offaly secure historic Leinster U-20 success

Share this article

Offaly are the new Leinster U-20 football champions.

The Faithful County produced a big performance to dethrone the holders, Dublin, at O'Moore Park.

It finished 0-15 to 3-3 in favour of the Midlanders, who last claimed the Flood Cup in 1995.

With the county's senior footballers recently securing promotion to Division Two, it's another shot in the arm for football in the county.

They ended as deserved winners in Portlaoise and withstood a late Dublin fightback to secure the win.

The final whistle was greeted with scenes of jubilation as they now move on to the All-Ireland semi-finals.

Cork will also be in the last four.

They recovered from a poor start to overpower Tipperary in the Munster decider at Semple Stadium.

It finished 3-20 to 3-10 in favour of The Rebels.

It's already looking like a novel semi-final line-up, with Roscommon surprising Mayo to win the Connacht title on Tuesday.

The Ulster showpiece has been postponed until next week following the tragic passing of the Monaghan captain.

Brendan Óg Duffy died after being involved in a car accident on his way home after his side's win over Donegal in the semi-final.

Their final against Down will now take place at the Athletic Grounds in Armagh on Friday, July 30th.

Share this article

Read more about

All-ireland Dublin Football GAA Leinster Offaly

You might like