Kerry and Galway name strong s...


Kerry and Galway name strong sides for NFL Division 1 opener

Share this article

Kerry manager Peter Keane has named a strong starting XV for Saturday's Allianz Football League Division 1 opener with Galway. 

Ten of the side that started November's Munster semi-final defeat to Cork will take the field at Austin Stack Park.

David Clifford starts in the full-forward line alongside his older brother Paudie.

Keane is also able to call upon the services of the fit-again Paul Geaney, who missed that loss to Cork through injury.

Kerry team v Galway: 

1. Shane Ryan (Rathmore)

2. Brian Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht)
3. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe)
4. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue)

5. Paul Murphy (capt.) (Rathmore)
6. Gavin Crowley (Templenoe)
7. Gavin Crowley (Dr. Crokes)

8. David Moran (Kerins O'Rahilys)
9. Jack Barry (Na Gaeil)

10. Dara Moynihan (Spa)
11. Seán O'Shea (Kenmare Shamrocks)
12. Paul Geaney (Dingle)

13. David Clifford (Fossa)
14. Killian Spillane (Templenoe)
15. Paudie Clifford (Fossa)

16. Kieran Fitzgibbon (Kenmare Shamrocks)
17. Graham O'Sullivan (Piarsaigh Na Dromoda)
18. Diarmuid O'Connor (Na Gaeil)
19. Paul O'Shea (Kilcummin)
20. Adrian Spillane (Templenoe)
21. Tommy Walsh (Kerins O'Rahilys)
22. Mike Breen (Beaufort)
23. Ronan Buckley (Listry)
24. Joe O'Connor (Austin Stacks)
25. Micheál Burns (Dr. Crokes)
26. Kevin O'Sullivan (Kenmare Shamrocks)

Having missed last year's solitary Championship outing for Galway last year, Damien Comer is named at full-forward for Saturday's game in Tralee.

It's Comer's first inter-county start since October of 2020.

Two of Galway's impressive All Ireland U20-winning side graduate to Pádraic Joyce's senior side. Jack Glynn starts at corner-back, while Matthew Tierney is named at centre-forward.

Galway team v Kerry: 

1. Bernard Power (Corofin)

2. Jack Glynn (Claregalway)
3. Seán Ó Maoilchiaráin (Aran Islands)
4. Liam Silke (Corofin)

5. Gary O’Donnell (Tuam Stars)
6. Dylan McHugh (Corofin)
7. Johnny Heaney (Killannin)

8. Peter Cooke (Moycullen)
9. Paul Conroy (St. James's)

10. Paul Kelly (Moycullen)
11. Matthew Tierney (Oughterard)
12. Eamonn Brannigan (St. Michael's)

13. Dessie Conneely (Moycullen)
14. Damien Comer (Annaghdown)
15. Shane Walsh (capt.) (Kilkerrin-Clonberne)

16. Conor Gleeson (Dunmore MacHales)
17. Johnny Duane (St. James's)
18. Sean Ó Ceallaigh (Moycullen)
19. Cathal Sweeney (Salthill-Knocknacarra)
20. Kieran Molloy (Corofin)
21. Ronan Steede (Corofin)
22. Maitias Bairéad (Naomh Anna)
23. Robert Finnerty (Salthill-Knocknacarra)
24. Finnian Ó Laoi (Spiddal)
25. Tomo Culhane (Salthill-Knocknacarra)
26. Liam Costello (Milltown)

You can listen to the first episode of the brand new THE FOOTBALL POD with Andy Moran, Paddy Andrews and OTB's Tommy Rooney right here

Horan gives two new faces a start in Mayo’s league opener with Down

Share this article

Read more about

Allianz Football League Damien Comer David Clifford Galway Kerry Padraic Joyce Paul Geaney Peter Keane

You might like