Joe Canning named in Galway mi...


Joe Canning named in Galway midfield for NHL meeting with Tipp

Share this article

Joe Canning will make his first start of the year for Galway on Saturday afternoon - in midfield. 

The Portumna star's introduction to the starting XV is one of nine changes made by Shane O'Neill for their Allianz Hurling League clash with Tipperary at Semple Stadium.

Darren Morrissey, Daithí Burke, TJ Brennan, Aidan Harte, Johnny Coen, Jason Flynn, Conor Cooney, and Kevin Cooney are the others returning to the side.

Galway are the only side in Division 1A with two wins to their name, following victories over Westmeath and Limerick.

Galway team v Tipperary: 

1. Eanna Murphy (Tommy Larkins)

2. Darren Morrissey (Sarsfields)
3. Daithí Burke (Turloughmore)
4. TJ Brennan (Clarinbridge)

5. Adrian Tuohey (Beagh)
6. Padraic Mannion (c) (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)
7. Aidan Harte (Gorte)

8. Joe Canning (Portumna)
9. Johnny Coen (Loughrea)

10. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields)
11. Jason Flynn (Tommy Larkins)
12. Conor Cooney (St. Thomas')

13. Brian Concannon (Killimordaly)
14. Kevin Cooney (Sarsfields)
15. Conor Whelan (Kinvara)

Substitutes: 16. Daragh Fahy, 17. Jack Fitzpatrick, 18. Sean Loftus, 19. Fintan Burke, 20. Gearóid McInerney, 21. Diarmuid Kilcommins, 22. Jarlath Mannion, 23. Niall Burke, 24. Evan Niland, 25. Cathal Mannion, 26. Jack Hastings.

Dublin to face Tyrone and Waterford in Ladies Football Championship

Share this article

Read more about

Allianz Hurling League Daithi Burke Galway Joe Canning Johnny Coen Joseph Cooney Pádraic Mannion Shane O'Neill Tipperary

You might like