Irish squad boosted as in-form...


Irish squad boosted as in-form Brighton midfielder Megan Connolly returns

Share this article

The Republic of Ireland squad has been boosted by the return of Brighton midfielder Megan Connolly for the upcoming Euro 2021 qualifier against Germany.

Connolly, who missed the double header against Greece and Montenegro in March with a shoulder injury, has started the Women's Super League season in flying form, notching a goal and an assist as the Seagulls beat Birmingham in their season opener last weekend.

West Ham striker Leanne Kiernan and Florida Start University forward Heather Payne also missed the games in March through injury and are welcomed back into the fold for the clash with the Germans on Saturday 19 September.

The uncapped duo of Alli Murphy of London City Lionesses and Wexford Youths' Ellen Molloy have also been included with the latter one of five players from the Women's National League that have been selected.

The squad has been trimmed down to 23 players who will meet up in Germany on Monday 14 September for a week-long training camp ahead of the game in Essen while a number of players remain on standby.

Ireland are currently top of the Group I following an unbeaten start and after the Germany game they will have two more group fixtures to complete with Ukraine away on October 23 and Germany at home on December 1.

The nine group winners and the three best runners-up (not counting results against the sixth-placed team) qualify directly for the final tournament, while the remaining six runners-up advance to the play-offs.

Republic of Ireland WNT Squad

Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (SC Braga), Courtney Brosnan (West Ham United), Niamh Reid Burke (Peamount United).

Defenders: Harriet Scott (Birmingham City), Louise Quinn (Fiorentina), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Claire O'Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Aine O'Gorman (Peamount United).

Midfielders: Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Jamie Finn (Shelbourne), Denise O'Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Alli Murphy (London City Lionesses), Niamh Farrelly (Peamount United), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Hayley Nolan (London City Lionesses), Ruesha Littlejohn (Leicester City), Ellen Molloy (Wexford Youths).

Forwards: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Heather Payne (Florida State University), Leanne Kiernan (West Ham United), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Rianna Jarrett (Brighton & Hove Albion), Kyra Carusa (HB Hoge).

Germany v Republic of Ireland
UEFA 2021 Women’s European Championship Qualifying – Group I
Saturday, September 19
Stadion Essen
KO 13:00 (Irish Time)

Share this article

Read more about

Alli Murphy Ellen Molloy Heather Payne Leanne Kiernan Megan Connolly Republic Of Ireland Vera Pauw

You might like