Gavin Bazunu called up to Repu...


Gavin Bazunu called up to Republic of Ireland squad for first time

Phil Egan
Phil Egan

01:46 18 Mar 2021

Share this article

Republic of Ireland manager Stephen Kenny has included 19-year-old Gavin Bazunu in his 29-man squad for the World Cup qualifiers against Serbia and Luxembourg.

The Manchester City goalkeeper - on loan at Rochdale this season - is one of four goalkeepers named in the squad as an update on Caoimhin Kelleher's fitness is required before the players report for duty on Sunday.

Striker Aaron Connolly will also be assessed by the medical team on his injury after being named in the squad.

Troy Parrott, currently on loan at Ipswich Town has also been included along with Callum O’Dowda, who has only recently returned from injury with Bristol City.

The squad will travel to Serbia for their opening qualifying match in Belgrade on Wednesday, March 24th, before returning to Dublin to face Luxembourg on Saturday, March 27th.

The Boys in Green will then travel to Hungary to face Qatar in an international friendly on Tuesday, March 30th.

The squad will report to Manchester on Sunday before flying to Belgrade on Monday afternoon.

Republic of Ireland squad - Serbia, Luxembourg & Qatar

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Gavin Bazunu (Rochdale, on loan from Manchester City), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth), Kieran O'Hara (Burton Albion).

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Shane Duffy (Celtic, on loan from Brighton and Hove Albion), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Kevin Long (Burnley), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Dara O'Shea (West Bromwich Albion), Ryan Manning (Swansea City), Cyrus Christie (Nottingham Forest).

Midfielders: Conor Hourihane (Swansea City, on loan from Aston Villa), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Jayson Molumby (Preston North End, on loan from Brighton and Hove Albion), Jason Knight (Derby County), Josh Cullen (Anderlecht).

Forwards: Robbie Brady (Burnley), James McClean (Stoke City), Daryl Horgan (Wycombe Wanderers), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), Callum Robinson (West Bromwich Albion), Aaron Connolly (Brighton and Hove Albion), Shane Long (AFC Bournemouth, on loan from Southampton), James Collins (Luton Town), Troy Parrott (Ipswich Town, on loan from Tottenham).

Share this article

Read more about

Aaron Connolly Gavin Bazunu Republic Of Ireland Stephen Kenny

You might like