David Gough confirmed as All I...


David Gough confirmed as All Ireland football final referee

Share this article

Meath official David Gough will referee the All Ireland football final meeting of Kerry and Dublin at Croke Park on September 1st. 

The GAA confirmed the rumoured news in an official release.

The match will be Gough's first senior All Ireland decider. Gough previously took charge of the 2015 Minor Football final between Kerry and Tipperary. Current senior stars Jason Foley, Tom O'Sullivan, Gavin White and Sean O'Shea were among the Kerry side that thrashed Tipp 4-14 to 0-6 that day.

Gough's been in the middle for matches involving both Dublin and Kerry this year. He refereed the Dubs' 5-18 to 1-17 win over Cork in the Super-8s in July. He also took charge of Peter Keane's first Allianz Football League game in charge of the Kingdom when they beat Tyrone 0-11 to 0-7 on a sodden day in Killarney.

The potential for Gough to be given the final attracted criticism from the former Kerry manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice and the ex-Kerry player Aidan O'Mahony, as the referee lives and works in Dublin.

Without questioning his integrity or abilities, they felt it would be better to appoint a referee with no links to the capital.

28 August 2016; Referee David Gough with team captains Killian Young of Kerry, left, and Stephen Cluxton of Dublin prior to the GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Semi-Final game between Dublin and Kerry at Croke Park in Dublin. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Cork official Conor Lane will be stand-by referee on September 1st, with Derry's Barry Cassidy on the other line. The sideline official will be Sean Hurson of Tyrone.

It's a family affair with Gough's umpires, who will be Dean Gough, Eugene Gough, Stephen Gough and Terry Gough all of whom also hail from the Slane club.

Noel Mooney from Cavan will referee the Electric Ireland Minor Championship final between Cork and Galway. Fellow Cavan Gaels club members Michael Mooney, Michael Graham, Berney Quinn and Martin Sheridan will be Mooney's umpires.

Stand-by referee to Mooney will be Roscommon's Paddy Neilan, with Brendan Cawley of Kildare the other linesman. Mayo's John Henry will be sideline official.

Share this article

Read more about

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship All Ireland Football Final Cork David Gough Dublin Kerry Meath Tyrone

You might like