Champions Manchester City domi...


Champions Manchester City dominate the PFA team of the year

Share this article

The PFA team of the year is dominated - as expected - by Premier League champions Manchester City. 

Pep Guardiola's squad take up six of the eleven places, which has been voted on by the players' fellow professionals.

Here's how the PFA team of the year line up for 2020/21:

The Brazilian goalkeeper is named on the team of the year for the second time in three seasons, having kept 19 clean sheets as Manchester City romped to the Premier League title.

Joao Cancelo
The Portuguese full-back's second season at City saw him finally settle into his surroundings, making 28 Premier League appearances and often tucking in as an auxiliary midfielder

Ruben Dias
Arguably the deciding factor in City's winning the Premier League following his €68million arrival from Benfica in September. Looked unflappable at the heart of their defence, and lifted the form of those around him.

John Stones
The Phil Babb to Dias' Paul McGrath, Stones career at City appeared to be on the rocks until the Portuguese defender's arrival and they formed a rock-solid partnership in front of Ederson.

Luke Shaw
Enjoyed by far his best season as a Manchester United player, clearly benefitting from the trust of his manager Ole Gunnar Solskjaer. Performances look set to see him rewarded with a starting place for England at Euro 2020.

Kevin de Bruyne
Despite a number of injuries curtailing his involvement this term, the Belgian remains one of the standout midfielder in the English top-flight providing 12 assists and adding 6 goals of his own.

Bruno Fernandes
Challenged Harry Kane for the Premier League golden boot this season, scoring 18 times as he helped Manchester United push City for the Premier League title.

Ilkay Gundogan
Much like Stones, enjoyed his best season to date in a Manchester City shirt. 11 of his 13 goals came in a magic spell between mid-December and mid-February.

Harry Kane
He may still be awaiting his first trophy as a senior player, but this is his fifth time to be named on the PFA team of the year. Kane was the Premier League's top scorer with 23 goals. Proving he's not just a one-trick pony, the 27-year old also provided 14 assists this term.

Mo Salah
Last season's Premier League champions' only representative on the team this year - Salah went toe-to-toe with Kane in the race for the golden boot, eventually ending the season one shy of the Spurs striker. Only once in his four seasons at Anfield has he failed to crack 20 league goals

Son Heung-Min
Kane's partner in crime, the Korean scored 17 goals and provided a further 10 assists in an otherwise hugely underwhelming Spurs season.

Andorra reaction, the youth transition & are there really some positives?! | OTB Football

Share this article

Read more about

Bruno Fernandes Ederson Harry Kane Heung-min Son Ilkay Gundogan Joao Cancelo John Stones Kevin De Bruyne Liverpool Luke Shaw Manchester City Manchester United Mo Salah PFA PFA Team Of The Year Ruben Dias Son Heung Min Tottenham Hotspur

You might like