Storm Eunice: Schools Closing...


Storm Eunice: Schools Closing In Nine Counties

Jack Quann
Jack Quann

10:52 17 Feb 2022

Share this article

Schools and colleges are set to close in nine counties due to Storm Eunice.

It comes after red weather warnings have been issued for Waterford and Clare.

The two latest alerts mean red warnings are now in place in four counties - Cork and Kerry, in addition to Waterford and Clare.

Schools and colleges will shut in these counties, as well as five others where high winds combined with snowfall are expected to create “blizzard like” conditions.

These are Donegal, Mayo, Leitrim, Sligo and Roscommon.

Bus Éireann and other transport links will not operate in red counties, and people are advised to stay indoors.

While schools will not close, the Department of Education has recommended they should teach remotely where possible.


Dublin is under a status orange wind warning, along with Kildare, Carlow, Laois, Offaly, Kilkenny, Wexford, Wicklow, and Galway. It begins at 3am, and runs until 11am.

Met Eireann is warning of severe and damaging winds for a time. Southwest or cyclonic winds becoming northwest will reach mean speeds of 65 to 80 km/h with gusts up to 130 km/h.

Follow @98FM on Twitter for the latest Dublin news

Share this article

Read more about

Cork Kerry Red Weather Warnings Storm Eunice Weather Warnings

You might like