4 MEPs Elected For Dublin Afte...


4 MEPs Elected For Dublin After Late Drama

Emma Tyrrell
Emma Tyrrell

07:52 12 Jun 2024

Share this article

Dublin has elected it's four MEP's for the European Parliament after late drama at the count in the RDS last night.

Fine Gael's Regina Doherty, Fianna Fail's Barry Andrews, Lynn Boylan of Sinn Fein and Aodhán Ó Ríordáin of Labour have taken the four seats.

The first two passed the quota at the 19th and final count, with Regina Doherty passing poll-topper Barry Andrews, who himself will return for a second term in Brussels.

Lynn Boylan was re-elected, having lost her seat in 2019.

She started the day in 4th in the poll, but the transfers of Daithí Doolan sent her back above radio presenter Niall Boylan and she turned out to be very transfer friendly in the final counts.

However, it was the elimination of People Before Profit's Brid Smyth which ultimately decided this election.

Her transfers allowed Aodhán Ó Ríordáin to overtake Ciarán Cuffe of the Green Party into 5th place.

Cuffe, who lost his seat, couldn't make up the lost ground following the elimination of his fellow outgoing MEP Clare Daly.

Ó Ríordáin received over 16,000 out of the over 43,000 on offer from Ciarán Cuffe, which meant he overtook Niall Boylan at the final count.

His election means there will need to be at least one by-election in the next six months. That's if we don't get a general election before then.

Reporting by Andrew Lowth

Image: Eamonn Farrell/©

Follow @98FM on Twitter for the latest Dublin news

Share this article

Read more about

Aodhán Ó Ríordáin Barry Andrews Election European Parliament Lynn Boylan MEP RDS Regina Doherty

You might like