15 Countries In Europe Make Go...


15 Countries In Europe Make Government's Travel 'Green List'

Share this article

The Government has agreed a 'green list' of 15 countries deemed safe to travel to.

It means people who travel to Ireland from the countries in question will not be required to self-quarantine for 14 days after they arrive here.

Only European countries have been included on the list, and they are all countries with similar or lower rates of coronavirus infection than Ireland.

The full list of countries is:

  • Malta
  • Finland
  • Norway
  • Italy
  • Hungary
  • Estonia
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Cyprus
  • Slovakia
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Gibraltar
  • Monaco
  • San Marino

However, people are still being urged to only travel for essential reasons.

Minister of State Josepha Madigan confirmed the list in a tweet this evening:

As expected, Britain, France, Spain and the Netherlands are among the notable exceptions on the list.

Ministers had been split on whether to lift quarantine requirements at all for a limited number of countries.

Tánaiste Leo Varadkar earlier suggested there shouldn't be a list if the advice to not travel for non-essential reasons wasn't changing.

He said it was wrong to send out "mixed messages" about international travel.

Main image: File photo of Dublin Airport via DAA

Share this article

Read more about

Green List Travel

You might like