Harvey Neville, son of Phil, n...


Harvey Neville, son of Phil, named in Tom Mohan's U19 squad

Phil Egan
Phil Egan

12:34 8 Oct 2019

Share this article

Republic of Ireland Under-19 manager Tom Mohan has named his squad for the International Friendlies against Denmark.

Harvey Neville, son of former Manchester United player Phil Neville, has been named in the squad of 27 players.

The United teenager qualifies for Ireland through his mother's family.

Borussia Monchengladbach forward Conor Noss has been called up for the first time.

The German-born attacker is yet to feature for the Bundesliga leader's first team but he was on the bench for last weekend's 5-1 win over Augsburg as well as the Europa League group game away to Basaksehir last week.

Mohan told FAI TV that he's looking forward to seeing 18-year-old play in Sligo:

“Conor plays at number 10. He was in our last training camp. He impressed a lot and is technically a very good player. He’s doing very well in Germany and we’re excited by him.”

Mohan will be looking to build on last season's campaign, which ended with a semi-final appearance in the UEFA Under-19 European Championships.

After the games against Denmark, the under 19's have Qualifying Round games against Switzerland, Austria and Gibraltar.

The first friendly against the Danes will take place in The Showgrounds on Friday, October 11 at 7pm, followed by the second game on Monday, October 14 at 1pm.

Republic of Ireland Under-19 Squad:

Goalkeepers: Sean Bohan (Bohemians), Jimmy Corcoran (Preston North End), Bobby Jones (Wigan Athletic)

Defenders: Ronan Boyce (Derry City), Ben Greenwood (AFC Bournemouth), Oisin McEntee (Newcastle United), Mark McGuinness (Arsenal), Mazeed Ogungbo (Arsenal), Andrew Omobamidele (Norwich City), Lewis Richards (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Timi Sobowale (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Jamie Bowden (Tottenham Hotspur), Barry Coffey (Celtic), Dawson Devoy (Bohemians), Donal Higgins (Galway United), Conor Grant (Sheffield Wednesday), Harvey Neville (Manchester United), Armstrong Oko-Flex (Celtic), Tyreik Wright (Aston Villa)

Forwards: Tom Cannon (Everton), Ryan Cassidy (Watford), Festy Ebosele (Derby County), Alex Gilbert (West Bromwich Albion), Conor Noß (Borussia Monchengladbach), George Nunn (Chelsea), Thomas Oluwa (Shamrock Rovers), Ross Tierney (Bohemians)

Share this article

Read more about

Conor Noss Denmark FAI Republic Of Ireland Tom Mohan

You might like