Tipperary clinch Liam MacCarth...


Tipperary clinch Liam MacCarthy Cup after stunning win over 14-man Kilkenny

Shane Hannon
Shane Hannon

05:12 18 Aug 2019

Share this article

Liam Sheedy's Tipperary have won the 2019 All-Ireland Senior hurling championship, after a clinical second-half display saw them beat Kilkenny by 14 points, on a 3-25 to 0-20 scoreline.

Goals from Niall O'Meara, Seamie Callanan and John 'Bubbles' O'Dwyer helped the Premier pull away.

Kilkenny had gone down to 14 men in the closing stages of the first half. Richie Hogan received his marching orders after a straight red card for a high elbow on Cathal Barrett, which referee James Owens deemed to be dangerous.

It was Brian Cody's Kilkenny that started the brighter, and they were 0-8 to 0-3 up on 21 minutes.

A goal from Niall O'Meara drew Tipp level though twenty-five minutes into the game - his shot after great work out the field from Paudie Maher gave Eoin Murphy no chance in the Kilkenny goal.

The sides traded scores before a Noel McGrath free put Tipp a point up at the interval - Tipperary 1-9 Kilkenny 0-11.

That was after former Hurler of the Year Hogan had been sent off, a decision which turned out to be a crucial point in this at times frenetic final, played in wet conditions in the first half.

Seamie Callanan bagged a second goal for Tipperary early in the second half, his second green flag of the championship.

Drom-Inch man Callanan then turned provider, pin-pointing a gorgeous pass to Bubbles O'Dwyer on 42 minutes to send Liam Sheedy's charges hurtling towards Tipperary's 28th All-Ireland senior crown.

His performance will have only added to the arguments concerning Callanan and the Hurler of the Year gong. Rival TJ Reid hit eleven points for Kilkenny this afternoon, with ten of those coming from placed balls.

Silvermines star Jason Forde was the danger man from set-pieces for Tipp - he hit eight points in all, with one of those from play.

Tipperary substitute Willie Connors added a couple of fine scores late on to put the gloss on the scoreline and in the end the 14 -point deficit put paid to any doubt as to the team deserving of the win.

In the curtain-raiser, Galway clinched their third Electric Ireland Minor All-Ireland in a row with a devastating display against Kilkenny.

It was a repeat of last year's decider, with the Tribes eventually winning out by eleven points, 3-14 to 0-12.

Mountbellew's Seán McDonagh was Man of the Match and top-scored with 2-8, including 1-1 from play.

Scorers for Tipperary: Jason Forde 0-8 (0-5f, 0-2 ‘65), Séamus Callanan (0-1f), John O’Dwyer 1-2 each, Niall O’Meara 1-0, John McGrath 0-3, Noel McGrath (0-1f), Séamus Kennedy, Willie Connors 0-2 each, Michael Breen, Ger Browne, Jake Morris, Mark Kehoe 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kilkenny: TJ Reid 0-11 (0-10f), John Donnelly 0-3, Billy Ryan 0-2, Pádraig Walsh, Richie Hogan, Colin Fennelly, Walter Walsh 0-1 each.

Share this article

Read more about

All-Ireland 2019 Final All Ireland Final Brian Cody Croke Park GAA GAA On Off The Ball Hurling Kilkenny Liam Sheedy Seamus Callanan Tipperary

You might like

Live: Title


Added to queue
Removed from queue

On Air



Next up on queue


There are currently no podcasts in the queue

Go to podcasts

On Air

The Sound Of The City with Reb...

The Sound Of The City with Rebecca Shekleton



Up next

The Sound of the City with And...

The Sound of the City with Andy Clarke



The Sound of the City with Kar...

The Sound of the City with Karl Dawson



98FM Throwback Anthems with Ba...

98FM Throwback Anthems with Barry Dunne



98FM’s Hotmix

98FM’s Hotmix



The Sound of the City at Night

The Sound of the City at Night



The Sound of the City with Bre...

The Sound of the City with Brendan Roache



Now That's What I Call Sport w...

Now That's What I Call Sport with Jamie Moore



The Sound of the City with Sha...

The Sound of the City with Shane Staunton



00:00:00 / 00:00:00

Share on