Tyrone, Mayo, Clare and Laois...


Tyrone, Mayo, Clare and Laois into Round 4 qualifier draw

Share this article

The teams in the draw for Round 4 of the football qualifiers has been completed.

Tyrone enjoyed a convincing win over Kildare in Newbridge, running out winners by 10 points.

It was a year to the day since the 'Newbridge or Nowhere' game where Lillywhites put the sword to Mayo after the game had been set to take place in Croke Park, despite Kildare getting being drawn out first and were entitled to home advantage.

However, playing today's game in Newbridge did not mean much earlier as seven points from Peter Harte as well as a goal and two points from Darren McCurry helped the Red Hand County to a 2:22 to 1:15 win over Kildare.

Mayo were run close by Armagh in Castlebar, defeating the Ulster team by just a point. Cillian O'Connor made an appearance for the 2017 All-Ireland finalists as they survived the scare to finish the game winning by 2:13 to the Orchard County's 1:15.

Elsewhere Clare narrowly beat Westmeath in Mullingar. The game finished 1:13 to 15 points, with the Banner's David Tubridy scoring 1:02 to get them to within one win of the Super 8s.

While in the Midlands derby in Portlaoise, John Maughan's Offaly have exited the Championship after going down to their neighbours Laois.

John Sugrue's men notched up 20 points to continue their fine form in 2019 after winning promotion to Division 2 in the National Football League.

The GAA in a statement has said, "Unlike, in previous rounds, venues for Round 4 are not on a home and away basis, the match venues and times will be confirmed by the CCCC on Monday afternoon with the fixtures scheduled for the weekend of 6th & 7th July.

"All matches in this round of the Football Championship will be 'Winner on the Day' if required."

Awaiting them in the Round 4 draw, which takes place on Monday morning are the beaten provincial finalists. There can be no repeat games from the provincial championships, meaning Laois cannot play Meath again.

Pot 1:


Pot 2:


Share this article

Read more about

All Ireland Championship Armagh Clare Kildare Laois Mayo Offaly Qualifiers Round 3 Round 4 Tyrone Westmeath

You might like