Share this article

Stuart McCloskey will earn his first Irish cap in two years this Sunday, with the Ulster centre named to start in the Autumn Nations Cup meeting with Georgia.

The 28-year-old - who earned the last of his three Irish caps in the November 2018 win versus the USA - has been picked alongside Munster's Chris Farrell in the centre.

Andy Farrell has made 9 changes from last week's defeat to England at Twickenham, with another Ulsterman Billy Burns set for his first Irish start, after two sub appearances in recent weeks.

Munster's Shane Daly is in line to make his debut, the Cork Con man is named on the bench after his impressive form for Munster at the tail end of the 2019/20 campaign.

Finlay Bealham will make a rare appearance at loosehead; the Connacht utility prop will earn his 14th cap, but this first start in two years. He packs down alongside Ulster's Rob Herring and Leinster's Andrew Porter, who starts despite his 80 minute shift at tighthead a week ago.

James Ryan continues in the second row and captain's the side alongside Iain Henderson, who replaces Quinn Roux.

The backrow sees two changes. CJ Stander continues in the team, but shifts across to number 8 with Tadhg Beirne and Will Connors brought in at 6 and 7 respectively.

Conor Murray earns his first start of the November series at scrum-half, with Burns, McCloskey and Farrell outside him.

Keith Earls continues on the wing, with Hugo Keenan on the other flank and Jacob Stockdale starting at fullback.

There's no place in the matchday 23 however for Ulster's Eric O'Sullivan, who joined the group this week following injury to Ed Byrne.

IRELAND: Jacob Stockdale, Hugo Keenan, Chris Farrell, Stuart McCloskey, Keith Earls, Billy Burns, Conor Murray; Finlay Bealham, Rob Herring, Andrew Porter, Iain Henderson, James Ryan, Tadhg Beirne, Will Connors, CJ Stander

REPLACEMANTS: Dave Heffernan, Cian Healy, John Ryan, Quinn Roux, Peter O'Mahony, Kieran Marmion, Ross Byrne, Shane Daly.

Team of Us. Everyone In.

Vodafone. The main sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team.

Share this article

Read more about

Andy Farrell Billy Burns Finlay Bealham Geirgia Rugby Ireland Georgia Irish Rugby Jacob Stockdale James Ryan Shane Daly Stuart Mccloskey Tadhg Beirne

You might like