Shamrock Rovers II granted Fir...


Shamrock Rovers II granted First Division licence as Limerick back out

Share this article

The FAI have confirmed that Shamrock Rovers Two will compete in this season's SSE Airtricity First Division at Limerick's expense

It follows a decision taken by the Independent Club Licensing Committee and the Independent Appeals Committee where "all applicants have been awarded licences".

The Rovers reserve side take the place of Limerick FC who were denied a licence over financial issues in December.

A Limerick side had looked poised to apply for a licence, even after the fixtures list for the First Division had been released with Shamrock Rovers II in mind.

In January, the FAI confirmed Limerick Football Club's ability to apply for a licence with the association happy that their trading company - Munster Football Club - came out of examinership on December 11.

In the end, Limerick opted against applying for a senior licence despite taking court action to ensure that they could.

It's believed Limerick will meet the National League Executive Committee to seek a youth licence.

The SSE Airtricity First Division season gets underway on Friday February 21, with Shamrock Rovers II beginning their season the following night away to Longford Town.

The Premier Division season begins on Friday night.

The clubs licenced to compete in 2020 are as following:

PREMIER DIVISION: Bohemian FC, Cork City, Derry City, Dundalk, Finn Harps, Shamrock Rovers, Shelbourne, Sligo Rovers, St. Patrick’s Athletic, Waterford FC.

FIRST DIVISION: Athlone Town, Bray Wanderers, Cabinteely, Cobh Ramblers, Drogheda United, Galway United, Longford Town, Shamrock Rovers II, UCD AFC, Wexford FC.

Share this article

Read more about

Bohemians FAI League Of Ireland Limerick FC SSE Airtricity First Division Shamrock Rovers Shamrock Rovers II Shelbourne

You might like