Richie Hogan earns starting pl...


Richie Hogan earns starting place for Kilkenny semi with Waterford

Share this article

Richie Hogan has been named in Kilkenny's starting XV for Saturday's All Ireland hurling semi-final with Waterford.

The Danesfort clubman has forced the hand of Brian Cody following his scintillating second half display in their Leinster final win over Galway.

A 44th minute substitute for Walter Walsh, Hogan helped turn the game in the Cats' favour with 1-2.

As he did a fortnight ago, Hogan replaces Walsh in the full-forward line.

The other change to the Kilkenny forwards see Colin Fennelly's place go to Billy Ryan.

Elsewhere, Paddy Deegan comes into the side, with no room in the matchday 26 for Richie Leahy.

Kilkenny team v Waterford:

1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Conor Delaney (Erin's Own)
3. Huw Lawlor (O'Loughlin Gaels)
4. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan)

5. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
6. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)
7. Paddy Deegan (O'Loughlin Gaels)

8. Conor Browne (James Stephens)
9. Conor Fogarty (Erin's Own)

10. John Donnelly (Thomastown)
11. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
12. Martin Keoghan (Tullaroan)

13. Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan)
14. Richie Hogan (Danesfort)
15. Eoin Cody (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

16. Darren Brennan (St. Lachtains)
17. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)
18. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
19. Ciaran Wallace (Erin's Own)
20. Richie Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
21. Alan Murphy (Glenmore)
22. Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
23. Walter Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon)
24. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)
25. Ger Aylward (Glenmore)
26. Niall Brassil (James Stephens)

Frank vs Jose, Leicester lacking bottle and low scoring weekends

Share this article

Read more about

All Ireland Hurling Championship Brian Cody Hurling Championship Joey Holden Kilkenny Richie Hogan Tj Reid Walter Walsh Waterford

You might like