Pádraic Joyce's Galway beat Ma...


Pádraic Joyce's Galway beat Mayo on penalties - Sunday's GAA wrap

Share this article

Galway have beaten Mayo 3-2 on penalties to progress to the final of Connacht football's FBD league, with Pádraic Joyce tasting victory in his first game in charge of the Tribesmen.

A chipped Kevin McLoughlin goal in the second half was replied to by a Galway green flag courtesy of Adrian Varley. There were twelve minutes of added time at the end of the game after an injury break for Galway's Fiontán Ó Curraoin.

Brian Walsh missed the decisive penalty for James Horan's Mayo, with Fergal Boland and Gary Boylan also missing from the spot for the green and red.

Shane Walsh, Damien Comer, and Tom Flynn were the penalty converters for Galway, while Paul Conroy and Adrian Varley had missed their attempts.

Galway now progress to take on Roscommon in the FBD League decider. Anthony Cunningham's charges were heavy 30-point winners over Leitrim.

It finished 7-16 to 0-7 in the Rossies' favour in Carrick-on-Shannon.

Elsewhere Mickey Harte's Tyrone progressed to the final of the Dr. McKenna Cup in Ulster. The defending champions were always comfortable in a 2-16 to 1-10 win over Down at the Athletic Grounds in Armagh.

The nine-point win sets up a meeting next Saturday with 'Banty' McEnaney's Monaghan in the decider.

The Farney County were handed a walkover in their last-four clash after Donegal manager Declan Bonner said he couldn't field a side due to players being unavailable with injury, flu, and Sigerson Cup duty.

There was also hurling action this afternoon - with defending champions Galway set to take on Wexford in a repeat of last year's Walsh Cup final.

Shane O'Neill's Tribesmen edged a highly competitive semi-final against Dublin at Parnell Park. They were 0-19 to 0-18 victors in a tense affair, while Davy Fitzgerald's Wexford saw off Kilkenny easily by 2-18 to 1-9.

Galway beat Wexford in last year's final in Enniscorthy by six points.

Meanwhile, Offaly's hurlers won the Kehoe Cup with a 1-16 to 1-15 win over Antrim at Páirc Tailteann in Navan. The winning point for the Faithful County came via Oisin Kelly in the fourth minute of injury-time.

Share this article

Read more about

Donegal Down GAA Galway James Horan Mayo Mickey Harte Monaghan Padraic Joyce Tyrone

You might like