Leinster championship scrapped...


Leinster championship scrapped in 2020 ladies football re-structure

Share this article

There will be a full revamp of the structures for the 2020 TG4 All-Ireland Senior Ladies Football Championship, including the scrapping of the Leinster championship.

The Ladies Gaelic Football Association (LGFA) have confirmed the news today ahead of next year's campaign.

The 2020 All-Ireland series will be consist of two groups, with six teams in each, and the top two teams from each group will progress to the All-Ireland semi-finals, following a minimum of five games.

The Provincial Championships must be organised on a knock-out basis, with the winners seeded in the draw for the All-Ireland series.

The bottom team in each group will contest a relegation play-off, unless they are a provincial winner, and thereby exempt from relegation.

There will be no Senior Championship in Leinster for 2020, and the groups for the All-Ireland series will be decided at the LGFA’s next Central Council meeting and circulated thereafter.

Last year, Dublin went on to beat Galway in front of a record 56,114 attendance in the 2019 TG4 All-Ireland Final, to land the Brendan Martin Cup for a third successive year.

The Dubs were 2-3 to 0-4 winners in a fairly dour decider in poor conditions at Croke Park.

Galway had beaten Connacht rivals Mayo by a point in the semi-final, while Dublin beat Ephie Fitzgerald's Cork team on a 2-11 to 0-11 scoreline in the second game of that double-header at GAA Headquarters.

Meanwhile, the full fixture details were released yesterday for next year's Lidl Ladies National League, with reigning champions Cork taking on Westmeath at home in their opening game.

Mick Bohan's Dublin side will host last year's All-Ireland intermediate champions Tipperary in their opening fixture when the league kicks-off on Sunday, January 26th.

The LGFA also confirmed yesterday that the top two finishers in the league will progress straight to the Finals in each of the divisions.

The 2020 Lidl Ladies National Football League Finals will be played on the weekend of April 18/19.

Share this article

Read more about

All-Ireland Senior Ladies Cork GAA Dublin GAA LGA Ladies Football Off The Ball

You might like