Moffat elected chair of Mayo G...


Moffat elected chair of Mayo GAA for 2020

Share this article

Liam Moffat has been elected the new chair of Mayo GAA for 2020.

The Deel Rovers clubman Moffat had defeated opposition from Seamus Tuohy who had also run for the position of chair. Speaking to the Connaught Telegraph before the vote, Moffat said:

"I believe that if we can achieve our potential off the field as administrators [then] it would mean that clubs in the county could focus more on achieving on-field success.

"That’s why I’ve prioritised policies and strategic vision rather than personality in speaking to clubs, divisional boards and officers.

"The reason I went down that line is because personally I’d admire anyone who volunteers to work for the club or their county, so making this a personality contest simply wasn’t on my mind.

“Ultimately I want to see a scenario where all of the board officers, and particularly the chair, are less visible to the public, where our best work is done away from the public glare, and where we are judged purely on our contributions based on policy and strategy."


Paul Cunnane will remain as the county board's PRO, despite it going to a vote against Michael Gallagher

This all comes off the back of Tim O'Leary revealing he would be pressing through with legal proceedings in a tweet on Friday night - surrounding his donation to the County Board in 2018 of €150,000.


Off The Ball understands that the GAA had attempted to step in to solve the ongoing impasse between the two parties before any threats of legal action could be followed through.

However, it appears that such attempts have not worked.

Share this article

Read more about

County Board Liam Moffat Mayo Mayo GAA

You might like