Messi and Rapinoe win 2019 Bal...


Messi and Rapinoe win 2019 Ballon d'Ors

Share this article

Lionel Messi has won the Men's Ballon d'Or for a record sixth time.

The Barcelona and Argentina forward had already won the FIFA The Best award for best player, beating Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk to the prize on that occasion.

This time, the 32-year-old also repeated that feat in Monday night's prestigious awards ceremony organised by France Football.

He took the award ahead of the final quartet of Van Dijk, Sadio Mane and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Van Dijk finished runner up for the award and the highest ranked defender since Fabio Cannavaro won in 2006.

Ronaldo and Mane finished third and fourth respectively, while Mo Salah was fifth.

USA World Cup winner Megan Rapinoe also won the Women's Ballon d'Or.

She saw off competition from England's Lucy Bronze and US team-mate Alex Morgan to claim the award.

The Night's Other Winners

Other big winners on the night were Liverpool's Alisson Becker who claimed the Yashin prize for best goalkeeper and Juventus and Netherlands defender Matthijs de Ligt who takes home the Kopa Trophy for best player aged under-21.

Seven Liverpool men's players featured on the Ballon d'Or shortlist including the three aforementioned in the Top 5. Meanwhile Manchester City provided five names with Bernardo Silva finishing highest in ninth.

Two Tottenham players also featured as Son-Heung Min and Hugo Lloris finished 22nd and 23rd respectively on the Men's Shortlist.

Record UEFA Women's Champions League winners Lyon also had six players on the shortlist.

You can find the full shortlists and award winners here.

Share this article

Read more about

Ballon D'Or Cristiano Ronaldo Football Lionel Messi Megan Rapinoe Off The Ball Sadio Mane Virgil Van Dijk

You might like