Meath dominate TG4 Ladies Foot...


Meath dominate TG4 Ladies Football All Star nominations

Phil Egan
Phil Egan

11:32 30 Sep 2021

Share this article

All Ireland champions Meath lead the way with 14 nominations on the list of 45 nominees for the 2021 TG4 Ladies Football All Star awards.

The Royals produced a stunning comeback to beat Cork in the semi-final before ending Dublin's dominance in the final at Croke Park on September 5th.

Meath goalkeeper Monica McGuirk is joined by 13 of her Meath team-mates after winning a very first TG4 Senior title, one season after lifting the Intermediate crown.

The other Meath nominees are Emma Troy, Mary Kate Lynch, Katie Newe, Aoibheann Leahy, Aoibhín Cleary, captain Shauna Ennis, Máire O’Shaughnessy, Orlagh Lally, Orla Byrne, Stacey Grimes, Niamh O’Sullivan, TG4 Senior Final Player of the Match Vikki Wall, and Emma Duggan.

5 September 2021; Vikki Wall of Meath during the TG4 All-Ireland Ladies Senior Football Championship Final match between Dublin and Meath at Croke Park in Dublin. Photo by Eóin Noonan/Sportsfile

Runners-up Dublin, who were denied a fifth All Ireland title in a row have nine nominations following a season that also saw Mick Bohan's side win the Lidl National League Division 1 title.

Cork have seven players nominated for All Stars, while the other beaten semi-finalists Mayo have earned six nominations.

There are three nominees from Donegal, two each from Armagh and Galway, and one apiece from Kerry and Waterford.

The 2021 TG4 All Star team will be announced at a gala banquet at Dublin’s Bonnington Hotel on Saturday, November 13th, while the Junior, Intermediate and Senior Players’ Player of the Year award winners will also be announced on the night.

2021 TG4 All Star nominations:


Monica McGuirk (Meath), Ciara Trant (Dublin), Dearbhla Gower (Galway)

Right corner back:

Emma Troy (Meath), Martha Byrne (Dublin), Saoirse Lally (Mayo)

Full back:

Mary Kate Lynch (Meath), Róisín Phelan (Cork), Evelyn McGinley (Donegal)

Left corner back:

Leah Caffrey (Dublin), Katie Newe (Meath), Eimear Meaney (Cork)

Right half back:

Erika O’Shea (Cork), Tamara O’Connor (Mayo), Aoibheann Leahy (Meath)

Centre back:

Aoibhín Cleary (Meath), Lauren McConville (Armagh), Nicole McLaughlin (Donegal)

Left half back:

Melissa Duggan (Cork), Orlagh Nolan (Dublin), Shauna Ennis (Meath)


Lauren Magee (Dublin), Jennifer Dunne (Dublin), Sinéad Cafferky (Mayo), Máire O’Shaughnessy (Meath), Hannah Looney (Cork), Orlagh Lally (Meath)

Right half forward:

Hannah Tyrrell (Dublin), Olivia Divilly (Galway), Orla Byrne (Meath)

Centre forward:

Rachel Kearns (Mayo), Lyndsey Davey (Dublin), Stacey Grimes (Meath)

Left half forward:

Niamh O’Sullivan (Meath), Carla Rowe (Dublin), Sarah Rowe (Mayo)

Right corner forward:

Aimee Mackin (Armagh), Vikki Wall (Meath), Sadhbh O’Leary (Cork)

Full forward:

Emma Duggan (Meath), Shauna Howley (Mayo), Katie Murray (Waterford)

Left corner forward:

Eimear Scally (Cork), Geradline McLaughlin (Donegal), Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh (Kerry).

Share this article

Read more about

Croke Park Dublin Meath TG4 Ladies Football

You might like