Mack Hansen set for Connacht d...


Mack Hansen set for Connacht debut against Cardiff

Share this article

New signing Mack Hansen is poised to make a first competitive start for Connacht tomorrow. 

The Westerners get their United Rugby Championship campaign up and running away to Cardiff.

Hansen (23) joined the province in the summer from Super Rugby side the Brumbies.

The highly-rated former Australia underage player is Irish-qualified through his mother, who hails from Cork.

He scored two tries last week for the Connacht Eagles and starts on the wing.

Elsewhere, there's a welcome return for Tom Farrell following the knee injury he sustained last November.

He starts in the centre alongside Tom Daly, who is set to make a 50th appearance.

Sligo youngster Hubert Gilvarry has a place amongst the replacements - and could make his debut if introduced.

A scrum-half, he has excelled at club and schools level in recent years in the Yeats County.

Speaking ahead of the trip to Wales, head coach Andy Friend said:

It’s been a really productive pre-season campaign so we’re all really looking forward to this URC opener.

"It’s a difficult opening game as Cardiff are always a formidable outfit especially at home, but we’ve prepared in the right way and are confident we can put in a really strong performance.

"Mack Hansen has been very impressive since arriving so fully deserves his first start, and in Hubert Gilvarry we have another Connacht native ready to make his debut if called upon.

"I know his inclusion in the matchday 23 will be a very proud day for all at Sligo RFC and Sligo Grammar School.”

Friday 24th September, Cardiff Arms Park @ 19:35

Number/Name/Caps (* denotes uncapped)
15. Tiernan O’Halloran (190)
14. John Porch (40)
13. Tom Farrell (62)
12. Tom Daly (49)
11. Mack Hansen *
10. Jack Carty (159)
9. Kieran Marmion (187)
1. Matthew Burke (23)
2. Shane Delahunt (100)
3. Finlay Bealham (159)
4. Oisin Dowling (7)
5. Ultan Dillane (114)
6. Cian Prendergast (10)
7. Conor Oliver (20)
8. Jarrad Butler (73) (C)

16. Dave Heffernan (144)
17. Jordan Duggan (13)
18. Dominic Robertson-McCoy (68)
19. Niall Murray (18)
20. Paul Boyle (57)
21. Hubert Gilvarry *
22. Conor Fitzgerald (36)
23. Sammy Arnold (16)

Share this article

Read more about

Andy Friend Cardiff Connacht Rugby Mack Hansen Rugby United Rugby Championship

You might like