Limerick win a record 12 Hurli...


Limerick win a record 12 Hurling All Stars as Cork miss out completely

Share this article

All Ireland senior champions Limerick have smashed all records when it comes to the All Stars by winning a record 12 hurling awards.

John Kiely's side beat Cork by 16 points in the All Ireland final back in August, and for the first time in the 50 year history of the All Stars across hurling and football, there are no representatives of the All Ireland runners up on the team.

Limerick trio Cian Lynch, Sean Finn and Kyle Hayes are all on the shortlist for hurler of the year, and they are in the 15 players picked for the PWC sponsored GAA / GPA team.

Cork may have felt the likes of Patrick Horgan, Seamus Harnedy and Jack O'Connor had claims, but the Rebels have come up empty handed. Offaly in 2000 and Waterford in 2008 suffered similar heavy defeats in All Ireland finals but gained representation on the team.

The non Limerick players selected are Kilkenny's Eoin Murphy in goal, Conor Prunty of Waterford at full back and Tony Kelly of Clare at right corner forward.

The previous record for All Stars was nine, won by the 2020 Limerick and 2008 Kilkenny crop in hurling, the 1983 and 2000 Kilkenny vintage - and in football - Dublin in 1977 and 2020 and Kerry in 1981.

The three players nominated for young hurler of the year are Kilkenny's Eoin Cody, Shane Barrett of Cork and Clare's Aidan McCarthy.

The football All Stars and footballer of the year will be announced on Friday night.

Tyrone pair Conor Meyler and Kieran McGeary and Mayo's Lee Keegan are on the footballer of the year shortlist.

The young footballer of the year nominees are Tyrone's Darragh Canavan, Oisin Mullin of Mayo and Galway's Matthew Tierney.

The GAA / GPA hurling team is as follows:

  1. Eoin Murphy
  2. Sean Finn
  3. Conor Prunty
  4. Barry Nash
  5. Diarmaid Byrnes
  6. Declan Hannon
  7. Kyle Hayes
  8. William O'Donoghue
  9. Darragh O'Donovan
  10. Gearoid Hegarty
  11. Cian Lynch
  12. Tom Morrissey
  13. Tony Kelly
  14. Seamus Flanagan
  15. Peter Casey

Share this article

You might like