LGFA sets May date for League...


LGFA sets May date for League return with Dublin and Cork to clash

Share this article

The LGFA has set a May 23 start date for this year's Lidl Ladies National Football League. 

Following the news that senior inter-county teams can resume training on April 19, the women's football body has become the first Gaelic games association to mark a formal date for their return.

The GAA has promised a fixtures plan for the year by the end of this week.

Last year's All Ireland finalists Dublin and Cork will meet again in the league, as they've been grouped in Division 1B alongside Tipperary and Waterford.

Division 1A is comprised of Galway, Mayo, Donegal and Westmeath.

Starting on May 23, three rounds of group fixtures will be played on consecutive weekends, with semi-finals penciled in for June 13.

Then follows a fortnight's break, before the Lidl National League Finals on June 27.

Precise fixture details for the National Leagues will be announced by the LGFA in due course.

2021 Lidl Ladies National Football League 

Division 1A: Galway, Mayo, Donegal, Westmeath

Division 1B: Dublin, Cork, Tipperary, Waterford

Division 2A: Kerry, Meath, Wexford, Clare

Division 2B: Tyrone, Monaghan, Armagh, Cavan

Division 3A: Down, Roscommon, Sligo, Fermanagh

Division 3B: Kildare, Laois, Longford, Wicklow

Division 4A: Louth, Leitrim, Antrim, Derry

Division 4B: Carlow, Offaly, Limerick

Kathryn Dane: Ireland ready to upset Six Nations big guns

Share this article

Read more about

Cork Dublin Ladies Football Ladies Gaelic Lgfa Lidl Ladies National Football League

You might like