LGFA reveal shortlists for 202...


LGFA reveal shortlists for 2020 Championship players of the year

Phil Egan
Phil Egan

12:18 11 Feb 2021

Share this article

The LGFA has announced details of a TG4 special to honour the Teams of the 2020 TG4 All-Ireland Ladies Football Championships.

2020 marked the 20th season of TG4’s sponsorship of the All-Ireland Ladies Football Championships, as well as the 20th year of live TV coverage of the All-Ireland finals.

Dublin were crowned Senior champions for a fourth year in a row with victory over Cork in the final.

Meath landed the Intermediate title and Fermanagh won the Junior final.

15 players will be honoured from the Junior grade, 15 from the Intermediate ranks, and 15 from the Senior Championship.

In addition, the 2020 TG4 Players’ Player of the Year award winners will be announced (one from each grade), while the 2020 AIG Cúl na Bliana (Goal of the Year) winner will be revealed.

Dublin's Sinead Goldrick and Carla Rowe and Armagh's Aimee Mackin have been nominated for the TG4 Players’ Player of the Year award at Senior level.

Meath pair Emma Duggan and Vikki Wall are up for the Intermediate player of the year award with Westmeath's Fiona Claffey.

Junior champions Fermanagh have two players on the shortlist for the player of the year with Joanne Doonan and Eimear Smyth in contention for the award along with Wicklow's Meadhbh Deeney.

Ladies Gaelic Football Association President, Marie Hickey said: "We are very much looking forward to Peil na mBan and to celebrate the very best of the 2020 TG4 All-Ireland Championships.

"Considering the extraordinary year that it was, and the condensed nature of our Championships, we were nevertheless treated to some wonderful football and memorable Championships, which saw worthy winners crowned in Fermanagh, Meath and Dublin.

"Thankfully, we managed to complete our TG4 All-Ireland Championships, and when you consider the lengths that players went to, to represent their counties, we believe that it is right to acknowledge the efforts of our inter-county stars in all three grades.

"In that regard, we’re delighted to honour Teams of the Championship at Junior, Intermediate and Senior levels.

"We will also learn the identities of our Senior, Intermediate and Junior Players’ Player of the Year winners, and there’s an impressive line-up of goalscorers competing for the AIG Cúl na Bliana award."

Peil na mBan – Foirne na Bliana – le AIG Insurance’ – Saturday, February 27, 7.15pm – TG4.

Share this article

Read more about

Aimee Mackin All Ireland Ladies Football Championship Carla Rowe Lgfa Marie Hickey Sinead Goldrick TG4

You might like