Lewandowski beats Ronaldo and...


Lewandowski beats Ronaldo and Messi to win FIFA player of the year

Share this article

Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski has been crowned The Best FIFA Men’s Player of the year. 

The Poland international beat competition from Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi to claim the award for the first time in his career.

Lewandowski becomes the first player other than Messi or Ronaldo since Ronaldinho in 2005 to win the award.

The 32-year old was the first choice of both Republic of Ireland manager Stephen Kenny and captain Seamus Coleman. Kenny chose Kevin de Bruyne and Kylian Mbappe in his top-3, with Coleman going for the old stagers Messi and Ronaldo.

Hosts Reshmin Chowdhury, right, and former Dutch soccer player Ruud Gullit, left, announce the best player award to Poland's Robert Lewandowski who receives from FIFA President Gianni Infantino during the Best FIFA Football Awards Ceremony in Zurich, Switzerland, Thursday, Dec. 17, 2020. On the screen at second left is Cristiano Ronaldo and at right Lionel Messi. (Valeriano Di Domenico/Pool via AP)

A bored-looking Ronaldo looked on via satellite as Lewandowski was presented with his award by FIFA president Gianni Infantino.

England and Manchester City defender Lucy Bronze was named the The Best FIFA Women's Player of the year, with Denmark's Pernille Harder and Bronze's former Lyon teammate Wendie Renard taking the podium spots.

Current Netherlands - and soon to be England - head coach Sarina Wiegman was named The Best FIFA Women’s Coach for the second time in her career.

Liverpool boss Jurgen Klopp took the men's equivalent after guiding the Merseyside club to the 2019-20 Premier League title.

Klopp saw four of his squad named in the FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World11.

Goalkeeper: Alisson Becker

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Alphonso Davies, Sergio Ramos, Virgil Van Dijk

Midfielders: Thiago Alcantara, Kevin de Bruyne, Joshua Kimmich

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski

Tottenham's Heung Min Son won the Puskas Award for best goal of the year, for his effort against Burnley a year ago.

Leeds quality, Kalvin Phillips and why Mourinho-ball failed

Share this article

Read more about

Cristiano Ronaldo FIFA Jurgen Klopp Lionel Messi Lucy Bronze Megan Rapinoe Robert Lewandowski Seamus Coleman Stephen Kenny Wendie Renard

You might like