Leinster and Ulster welcome Ir...


Leinster and Ulster welcome Ireland players for PRO 14 clash

Share this article

Leinster and Ulster have named their teams for Saturday's PRO 14 Conference A clash in Belfast.

Leo Cullen has welcomed the four players released from Ireland camp back into the fold.

Captain McGrath is joined this week by Ross Byrne who was released by Andy Farrell to Leinster during the week.

Ed Byrne is another released back to Leinster and he starts at loosehead, with James Tracy at hooker and Michael Bent at tighthead.

In the back row, Rhys Ruddock and Josh van der Flier are the final two available to Cullen having been released back to the province and they start at blindside and openside, Scott Penny, completing the back row.

For Ulster, John Cooney and Ian Madigan will line up against their former employers at half-back.

Having returned from injury off the bench last Friday against Ospreys, Robert Baloucoune comes into the starting back three, joining Jacob Stockdale on the left-wing and Michael Lowry at full-back. Stuart McCloskey and James Hume have retained their starting berths in midfield.

In the front row, both Eric O’Sullivan and Tom O’Toole come in to start at loosehead and tighthead prop respectively, with John Andrew retaining his place at hooker. Alan O’Connor and Kieran Treadwell will partner up in the second row. Marcell Coetzee makes his return from injury to start at Number Eight and is named alongside Nick Timoney and skipper, Jordi Murphy.


Leinster Rugby :

15. Max O’Reilly 14. Cian Kelleher 13. Jimmy O’Brien 12. Rory O’Loughlin 11. Dave Kearney 10. Ross Byrne 9. Luke McGrath (C)

1. Ed Byrne 2. James Tracy 3. Michael Bent 4. Devin Toner 5. Scott Fardy 6. Rhys Ruddock 7. Josh van der Flier 8. Scott Penny

Replacements: 16. Seán Cronin 17. Peter Dooley 18. Thomas Clarkson 19. Ross Molony 20. Josh Murphy 21. Rowan Osborne 22. Jamie Osborne 23. Jack Dunne


Ulster Team:

(15-9) Michael Lowry, Robert Baloucoune, James Hume, Stuart McCloskey, Jacob Stockdale, Ian Madigan, John Cooney.

(1-8) Eric O’Sullivan, John Andrew, Tom O’Toole, Alan O’Connor, Kieran Treadwell, Nick Timoney, Jordi Murphy (Capt.), Marcell Coetzee.

Replacements: Adam McBurney, Andrew Warwick, Marty Moore, Cormac Izuchukwu, Sean Reidy, Alby Mathewson, Stewart Moore, Rob Lyttle.

Team of Us. Everyone In.

Vodafone. The main sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team

Share this article

Read more about

Leinster Ulster Pro 14

You might like