Leaving Cert student O'Neill t...


Leaving Cert student O'Neill to start for Limerick against Galway

Share this article

Cathal O'Neill is to make his senior debut for Limerick in Sunday's Allianz Hurling League clash with Galway at Pearse Stadium. 

The Crecora-Manister is currently studying for his Leaving Cert, and was a Munster Minor champion in 2019.

O'Neill's introduction to the Limerick attack is one of six changes made from last week's draw with Tipperary at the LIT Gaelic Grounds.

Dan Morrissey replaces Sean Finn at full-back. Into midfield for Darragh O'Donovan comes Kilteely-Dromkeen's Brian O'Grady.

In the half-forwards, Gearóid Hegarty and Cian Lynch replace Tom Morrissey and Conor Boylan. And up top O'Neill and Peter Casey come in for Adrian Breen and David Dempsey.

Limerick team v Galway: 

1. Nickie Quaid (Effin)

2. Aaron Costello (Kilmallock)
3. Dan Morrissey (Ahane)
4. Richie English (Doon)

5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
6. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)
7. Barry Nash (South Liberties)

8. William O'Donoghue (Na Piarsiagh)
9. Brian O'Grady (Kilteely-Dromkeen)

10. Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks)
11. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)
12. David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca)

13. Cathal O'Neill (Crecora-Manister)
14. Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon)
15. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)

Substitutes: 16. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), 17. Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), 18. Adrian Breen (Na Piarsaigh), 19. Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown), 20. Sean Finn (Bruff), 21. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), 22. Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock), 23. Tom Morrissey (Ahane), 24. Darragh O'Donovan (Doon), 25. Mark Quinlan (Garryspillane), 26. Brian Ryan (South Liberties).

Having missed last week's trouncing of Westmeath, there's a welcome return to the Galway subs bench for Joe Canning. He's set to make his first appearance since suffering a concussion against Limerick in the All Ireland semi-final.

Galway team v Limerick: 

1. Eanna Murphy (Tommy Larkins)

2. Sean Loftus (Turlougmore)
3. Gearoid McInerney (Oranmore Maree)
4. Jack Fitzpatrick (Killimordaly)

5. Adrian Tuohey (Beagh)
6. Padraic Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)
7. Fintan Burke (St. Thomas's)

8. David Burke (St. Thomas's)
9. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)

10. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields)
11. Evan Niland (Clarinbridge)
12. Brian Concannon (Killimordaly)

13. Jarlath Mannion (Cappataggle)
14. Niall Burke (Oranmore-Maree)
15. Conor Whelan (Kinvara)

Substitutes: 16. Darach Fahy, 17. TJ Brennan, 18. Shane Cooney, 19. Darren Morrissey, 20. Jason Flynn, 21. Diarmuid Kilcommins, 22. Declan Cronin, 23. Jack Hastings, 24. Kevin Cooney, 25. Joe Canning, 26. Johnny Coen

Kerry and Galway name strong sides for NFL Division 1 opener

Share this article

Read more about

Cathal Mannion Cian Lynch Conor Whelan Dan Morrissey David Burke Galway Gearoid Hegarty Joe Canning Joseph Cooney Kyle Hayes Limerick Peter Casey Pádraic Mannion

You might like