Kevin McLoughlin makes history...


Kevin McLoughlin makes history as Mayo name side to face Sligo

Share this article

Kevin McLoughlin will join an elite band of Mayo footballers in Saturday's Connacht Football quarter-final with Sligo. 

The Knockmore forward will be making his 150th league and championship appearance for his county.

McLoughlin is only the third Mayo player in history to achieve such a mark, following on from Andy Moran and Keith Higgins.

He's one of ten survivors in the starting XV from the side that started December's All Ireland final defeat to Dublin.

Two of the changes come alongside McLoughlin in the Mayo half-forward line, with Darren McHale and Bryan Walsh drafted in.

Rob Hennelly replaces the retired David Clarke in goal, while Enda Hession is named at right corner-back.

Michael Plunkett's name is the other note of difference, and he starts in a half-back line with Paddy Durcan and Eoghan McLoughlin.

After proving his fitness in the final throws of the Allianz League campaign, Aidan O'Shea is named at full-forward.

Sligo manager Tony McEntee has made several changes to the side that lost to Wexford in the Division 4 Shield decider.

The team is captained by Coolera/Strandhill defender Keelan Cawley.


1. Rob Hennelly (Breaffy)

2. Enda Hession (Garrymore)
3. Oisin Mullin (Kilmaine)
4. Lee Keegan (Westport)

5. Paddy Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)
6. Michael Plunkett (Ballintubber)
7. Eoghan McLaughlin (Westport)

8. Matthew Ruane (Breaffy)
9. Conor Loftus (Crossmolina)

10 .Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
11. Darren McHale (Knockmore)
12. Bryan Walsh (Ballintubber)

13. Tommy Conroy (The Neale)
14. Aidan O'Shea (Breaffy)
15. Ryan O'Donoghue (Beal an Mhuirthead)


1. Eamonn Kilgallon (St Farrnan’s)

2. Ryan Feehily (St Mary’s)
3. Eddie McGuinness (Tubbercurry)
4. Evan Lyons (Shamrock Gaels)

5. Keelan Cawley (Coolera/Strandhill) Capt
6. Paul McNamara (St John’s)
7. Darragh Cummins (Calry/St Joseph’s)

8. Patrick O’Connor (St Farnan’s)
9. Paul Kilcoyne (St Mary’s)

10. David Quinn (Shamrock Gaels)
11. Cian Lally (Drumcliffe/Rosses Point)
12. Mikey Gordon (Easkey)

13. Nathan Rooney (St Mary’s)
14. Niall Murphy (Coolera/Strandhill)
15. Seán Carrabine (Castleconnor).

James Skehill: Davy Fitz as Jose Mourinho – Wexford need a change | Limerick nearing Kilkenny’s best

Share this article

Read more about

Aidan O'shea All-Ireland Football Championship Connacht Football Championship James Horan Kevin McLoughlin Lee Higgins Mayo Rob Hennelly Sligo

You might like