Kerry set up All-Ireland final...


Kerry set up All-Ireland final showdown with the Dubs

Share this article

Kerry will meet Dublin in the All-Ireland senior football decider on September 1st after a battling 1-18 to 0-18 win over Tyrone at Croke Park this afternoon.

Peter Keane's men trailed Mickey Harte's charges by four points at the break, but excellent displays from David Moran, Seán O'Shea and David Clifford helped the Kingdom reach their first final since 2015.

The county that failed to do the five-in-a-row when losing to Offaly in 1982 will now have the opportunity to halt the Dubs' efforts in their own 'drive for five.'

Having gone in at the break four behind (0-9 to 0-5), Kerry came out in the second half a different side, and it was a nicely taken goal from Stephen O'Brien which really kicked them on.

O'Brien received a black card late in the game, which would rule him out of the decider after two black cards in previous games - although by all accounts Kerry are expected to appeal that.

Sean O'Shea's kicking was crucial with six points from placed balls, while David Clifford was his usual effective self, hitting five points, four of those from play.

Cathal McShane had been Tyrone's danger man for much of the game with seven points of his own (four from play).

Kerry's goalscorer O'Brien was delighted with his side's team effort when speaking afterward.

“We’re happy with it. We definitely needed it at half-time. There were a few choice words at half time and we came out a different team, that’s the way we want to play going forward.

“Everyone knows that the substitution bench has a huge role to play in Gaelic football. There are loads of lads pushing to be on the starting team and in the 26, that’s the strength of our panel.”

O'Brien was also under no illusions that the task against Jim Gavin's Dubs in the final is a big one.

“It’s a huge challenge in the final against Dublin so we’re really looking forward to a great occasion.”

In the curtain-raiser, Kerry's drive for six in a row in the Electric Ireland minor football championship ended.

Donal O'Faharta's Galway beat them by 0-14 to 0-13 and will now go on to play Cork in the decider.

Share this article

Read more about

All-ireland David Clifford Dublin GAA GAA On Off The Ball Jim Gavin Kerry Sean O'shea Stephen O'Brien Tyrone

You might like